Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

  1. #1

    Default QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Hi all!
    Just installed 11.0
    I have Logitech QuickCam, but I can't use its mic
    I can see it as sound dev in Kmix (as a tab), but not in alsa and other apps. Its mic is a usb dev.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by tribunal View Post
    Hi all!
    Just installed 11.0
    I have Logitech QuickCam, but I can't use its mic
    I can see it as sound dev in Kmix (as a tab), but not in alsa and other apps. Its mic is a usb dev.
    I don't have a solution, and I was hoping someone else would "chime in" and answer your post. Unfortunately it appears that is not going to happen. So I guess its up to me to take a "stab at it". < sigh >

    Can you run a couple of diagnostic scripts to diagnose your audio configuration, so that we can determine if this is doable? Please copy and paste the following into an xterm/konsole. They will a diagnostic script on your audio configuration, and paste the configuration on to a web site, providing you a URL with the site location. Please post the URL in this thread. Your PC needs to be connected to the internet for this to work.

    1st script:
    Code:
    wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    2nd script:
    Code:
    su -c 'wget -O tsalsa wget http://home.cfl.rr.com/infofiles/tsalsa && bash tsalsa'
    For this second script, it will prompt you for a password. Please enter your root password. For every question you can not answer, just select "NO".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    I assume we're talking about a Logitech Quickcam Ultravision webcam? I just happen to have the same model and for me everything is working. So if there's anything I can add to the discussion, please do let me know.

    What I do know with this webcam is that you specifically have to select the input source for it will use your default microphone input by default. I usually use alsamixer from the command line to set it:
    Code:
    alsamixer
    It might help if you'd tell us what application you are trying to get thing to work so I can test it with that application as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Can you run a couple of diagnostic scripts to diagnose your audio configuration, so that we can determine if this is doable?
    I tried to run both scripts (although my ALSA is working just fine) but the scripts failed to produce output after more than 5 minutes. This first script just asked me to run it and when I selected yes ran dead. The second script asked a bunch of questions but after asking what the problem was again stopped cold. Is their runtime longer than that or are they simply not working for me?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by jsnel View Post
    I tried to run both scripts (although my ALSA is working just fine) but the scripts failed to produce output after more than 5 minutes. This first script just asked me to run it and when I selected yes ran dead. The second script asked a bunch of questions but after asking what the problem was again stopped cold. Is their runtime longer than that or are they simply not working for me?
    I think you waited a couple of minutes, but not 5 because I just tested both scripts, after reading your post. Both work.

    Both scripts are functional, but a couple of items. The 1st script, alsa-info.sh will paste the information to http://pastebin.ca. Currently http://pastebin.ca is down. So after a few minutes alsa-info.sh will time out, and you can elect NOT to post the information to http://pastebin.ca and see what the information looks likely locally.

    The second script, tsalsa works fine. BUT it pastes the URL in a different colour (red on my konsole), and it may be necessary for you to "highlight" with your mouse cursor the area after immediately after "paste this url in #alsa:" in order to see the URL.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    57

    Post Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    You were right the website being down caused the time out, and I guess my experience of 5 minutes is half that in real time. Now that the websites are up the scripts were done in a matter of seconds.

    Result of the first script:
    general pastebin - jsg210 - post number 1064445

    Result of the second script:
    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    So these result are for a Dell Inspiron 6400 running openSUSE 11.0 vanila with a working Logitech Quickcam Ultravision connected to it.
    I've tested it with Skype 2.0.0.72 where the webcam was recongnized as:
    Video: (UVC Camera 046d:08c9 (/dev/video)
    Audio 1: USB Device 0x46d:0x8c9 (hw:U0x46d0x8c9,0)
    Audio 2: USB Device 0x46d:0x8c9 (plughw:U0x46d0x8c9,0)

    I hope that helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by jsnel View Post
    You were right the website being down caused the time out, and I guess my experience of 5 minutes is half that in real time. ....
    I hope that helps.
    Thanks jsnel. If I undertand correctly, your web cam "just works" with the UVC driver and controlling the audio/mic via alsamixer.

    Tribunal, can you also run those scripts on your PC?

    jsnel, when I researched the web cam uvc driver, I noted a qualification on the webcam linux compatibility site that stated:
    Linux UVC driver & tools

    1 First and second generation Logitech webcams suffer from firmware bug which make the camera somehow unstable. As the issue is timing-related, the exact impact of the bug on a particular user can't be predicted. If you plan to buy a Logitech webcam, consider getting one of the models not affected by the bug. More information about the issue, including possible workarounds, are available on the QuickCam Team website.

    2 Starting at version 2.6.22, the Linux kernel includes a USB audio bug fix which triggers a (possibly identical to the above) bug in first and second generation Logitech webcams. See the Linux UVC wiki for a workaround.
    So I then went to:
    Linux UVC - OpenFacts
    and I noted this:

    The webcam audio interface must be initialised before the video interface. Linux will by default initialise the video interface first, so you need to remove the uvcvideo.ko module from the /lib/modules subdirectory where it gets loaded automatically, and load it manually after plugging the webcam.
    A more convenient workaround on openSUSE (and maybe other distros too)
    Just add the following line to your /etc/modprobe.conf.local :

    install uvcvideo /sbin/modprobe snd_usb_audio; /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install uvcvideo

    * If you have to reset you cam for any reason, do:
    1. unplug your cam
    2. modprobe -r uvcvideo
    3. modprobe -r snd_usb_audio
    4. replug your cam
    o (not sure if step 1 and 4 are really necessary, or if 2 and 3 would be sufficient)
    jsnel, did you have to do that work around?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: QuickCam Ultra, Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Thanks jsnel. If I undertand correctly, your web cam "just works" with the UVC driver and controlling the audio/mic via alsamixer.

    jsnel, did you have to do that work around?
    No, everything just worked out of the box. I've actually installed openSUSE 11.0 on 2 systems (32bit laptop and 64bit desktop) and connected the webcam to both and succesfully used it with Skype. I've never done any workarounds, just added the webcam drivers community repository to YAST's repository list and install the uvcvideo driver (and the default kernel driver), next time I start Skype it just works, audio included - as long as I explicitly say which audio device it uses because the default audio device doesn't do anything. I added two screenshots to illustrate:




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •