No sound: OS11|KDE3.5 Realtek HD

After a fresh install of OpenSuSE 11.0 with KDE 3.5, I have no sound.

I’m using an USB logitech headset, and the system certainly picks it up. It even goes as far as enabling the volume control that’s located on the cord of the headset, but no dice.

I’m new to openSuSE and linux all together, having a little prior knowledge in Ubuntu.

Any help is greatly appreciated : )

Reavie, thank you for participating in our forum.

Please, can you work your way through the audio troubleshooting guide, and see if it can help you solve your problem.
SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

Please pay attention to the need to install alsa-firmware and also check your mixer settings thoroughly.

If that does not work for you, then please can you post the output of:
a. the URL(s) provided by running the two diagnostic scripts recommended by the audio troubleshooting guide. Scripts_to_run_to_obtain_detailed_information

b. the output of running in a terminal/xterm/konsole:
rpm -qa | grep alsa
rpm -qa | grep pulse
rpm -q libasound2
uname -a
cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

I went through the guide prior to posting, and it didn’t work
>: (

Here’s the script’s output:

linux-ntgq:/home/jeremy # rpm -qa | grep alsa

alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.15-48.1
alsa-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.1
alsa-firmware-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.1
alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
alsa-utils-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.1
alsa-tools-1.0.16.91.git20080610-1.1

linux-ntgq:/home/jeremy # rpm -qa | grep pulse
linux-ntgq:/home/jeremy # rpm -q libasound2

libasound2-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.1
linux-ntgq:/home/jeremy # uname -a
Linux linux-ntgq 2.6.25.5-1.1-default #1 SMP 2008-06-07 01:55:22 +0200 x86_64 x8 6_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

linux-ntgq:/home/jeremy # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

options snd slots=snd-hda-intel

FVI2.l+m4jtQBEVE:VIA High Definition Audio Controller

alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel