Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11.0)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    29

    Question Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11.0)

    I have the following Problem:
    In my Laptop (LG E500) there is an Realtek HD-Sound Chip. It works right out of the box. But i couldn't disable the integrated speakers by default.
    In older Versions of SuSE I just have to go to Yast -> Sound, and give there the option "model=laptop-eapd", then I was able to switch the internal speakers off via Kmix (Headphone Switch).

    In SuSE 11, when i enter this value, Yast restarts the soundserver directly after I entered the value, and go back to the "overview" of the installed cards. At this point, the driver seems to be loaded correct, i'm able to switch speakers off. But when I quit Yast now, settings will be stored and Soundserver will be restartet again - and - all Options are gone ;(

    Also adding "model=laptop-eapd" to /etc/modprobe.d/sound doesn't work any longer (as it does in 10.x), restarting of Alsa failes, and i get lots of "unknown Symbol"-Messages in dmesg...

    Maybe anyone has the same problem or an solution?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Quote Originally Posted by terwarf View Post
    In my Laptop (LG E500) there is an Realtek HD-Sound Chip. It works right out of the box. But i couldn't disable the integrated speakers by default.
    terward, I note the information you provided here in this thread: terward's piggy backed post on someone else's sound problem

    terward, please, can you work your way through the audio troubleshooting guide:
    SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

    In particular, if you have no luck there, then please post here:

    a. the output URL(s) generated by running the audio troubleshooting guide's two diagnostic scripts:
    Scripts_to_run_to_obtain_detailed_information

    b. the output of:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound


    Thankyou.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    29

    Red face Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    I don't know if the troubleshooting guide is the right place, because the syntax in /etc/modprobe.d/sound is slightly different in SuSE 11 and the guide (see below), maybe that's also the point, but i'm wondering that yast also doesn't do the job (it also doesn't change that file)...

    The URL's from the scripts:
    general pastebin - alex - post number 1052444
    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    Code:
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -qa | grep pulse
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # uname -a
    Linux alex-laptop 2.6.25.5-1.1-pae #1 SMP 2008-06-07 01:55:22 +0200 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    As I mentioned before - when I load the driver via modprobe snd-hda-intel model=xxx", it works perfect, so I think it's a problem of the SuSE11 alsa-skripts, not a Problem with alsa itself...

    Thank's a lot, Alex

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Here is what I learned from your previous posts.... your scripts told me that you have an ALC883 codec in your Microstar E500-SP13G laptop. Searching on the alsa site for the ALC883, I see there was a recent update in alsa 1.0.17RC1 which may or may not help, if you upgrade your alsa.
    Search results on ALC883 - AlsaProject

    I noted in the ALSA-Configuration.txt file (and there is a copy of this configuration guidance file on your openSUSE install, and hence on your hard drive), that for the ALC883 :
    Code:
    	ALC883/888
    	  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF I/O
    	  6stack-dig	6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O
    	  3stack-6ch    3-jack 6-channel
    	  3stack-6ch-dig 3-jack 6-channel with SPDIF I/O
    	  6stack-dig-demo  6-jack digital for Intel demo board
    	  acer		Acer laptops (Travelmate 3012WTMi, Aspire 5600, etc)
    	  acer-aspire	Acer Aspire 9810
    	  medion	Medion Laptops
    	  medion-md2	Medion MD2
    	  targa-dig	Targa/MSI
    	  targa-2ch-dig	Targs/MSI with 2-channel
    	  laptop-eapd   3-jack with SPDIF I/O and EAPD (Clevo M540JE, M550JE)
    	  lenovo-101e	Lenovo 101E
    	  lenovo-nb0763	Lenovo NB0763
    	  lenovo-ms7195-dig Lenovo MS7195
    	  haier-w66	Haier W66
    	  6stack-hp	HP machines with 6stack (Nettle boards)
    	  3stack-hp	HP machines with 3stack (Lucknow, Samba boards)
    	  6stack-dell	Dell machines with 6stack (Inspiron 530)
    	  mitac		Mitac 8252D
    	  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
    I see your setting of "laptop-eapd" there. .... Its possible some of the other codes might work, but why not try a hand edit to your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file with:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel model=laptop-eapd
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    then restart your sound from an xterm/konsole with root permissions by typing: rcalsasound restart
    and test your sound.

    and if that doesn't work, then back it up, and try a more conventional /etc/modprobe.d/sound file:
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0 model=laptop-eapd
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    then restart your sound from an xterm/konsole with root permissions by typing: rcalsasound restart
    and test your sound.

    If that doesn't work, you could try some different codes OTHER than "laptop-eapd". ... And if that doesn't work, you could try upgrade to 1.0.17RC2 of alsa ... the links in the audio troubleshooting guide will direct you to zypper commands to do that. .... I'm not convinced the 1.0.17RC2 will work for you, as when I compare the ALSA-Configuration.txt files between 1.0.16 and 1.0.17RC2 I note under the ALC883 that 6stack-hp model was removed and clevo-m720 and fujitsu-pi2515 models were added ... neither of which are specific to your laptop.

    Good luck.

    Quote Originally Posted by terwarf View Post
    The URL's from the scripts:
    general pastebin - alex - post number 1052444
    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    Code:
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -qa | grep pulse
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # uname -a
    Linux alex-laptop 2.6.25.5-1.1-pae #1 SMP 2008-06-07 01:55:22 +0200 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    As I mentioned before - when I load the driver via modprobe snd-hda-intel model=xxx", it works perfect, so I think it's a problem of the SuSE11 alsa-skripts, not a Problem with alsa itself...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Quote Originally Posted by terwarf View Post
    Code:
    alex-laptop:/home/alex/Documents/Hardware/alsa_suse11 # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    I forgot to mention in my previous post. ... you may wish to install alsa-firmware, and then reboot your PC, BEFORE you try any of the above post ideas.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    29

    Lightbulb Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    I know i'm doing a double post right here, but i want to give this thread the "right ending":

    I have it working for me now (usual case of RTFM )

    All you have to do is adding a line to /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    Before:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    After:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-eapd
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    Be sure to replace "laptop-eapd" with the right model
    after that run "rcalsasound restart", press alt+F2 and enter "kmix" to restart the mixer tray applet (Or simply reboot)
    Good Luck...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Quote Originally Posted by terwarf View Post
    I have it working for me now (usual case of RTFM )
    Congratulations - and thanks for sharing your solution!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Hello, i've been having these same problems for quite a while and i also gave up several times (after trying loads of things with NO success)
    So i downloaded the latest version of linux and hoped, that it will work this time, but it didn't. So again i did some editing to the sound file in etc/mdprobe but no success again. So i tried the troubleshooting you posted, i got the the step 3 where my alsa generated this information that might help if somebody is willing to help me.

    salsa version 2008-07-02 Ne jl 6 17:31:54 CEST 2008
    Enter Sound Problem here: sound is played from speakers and headphones at the same time


    PC type/make/model: Laptop:MSI number GX700

    plugs: 3
    surround sound system: yes
    model options: yes
    number of speakers... 5
    digital receiver... yes

    Distro: Welcome to openSUSE 11.0 (i586)

    Release: SuSE-release
    2.6.25.5-1.1-pae
    System: Linux linux-9jm6 2.6.25.5-1.1-pae #1 SMP 2008-06-07 01:55:22 +0200 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Vendor/dev id:


    Vendor/dev module:


    Vendor/device:
    Lspci info:


    Alsa driver: 1.0.16rc2
    dpkg path:
    Alsa utils: 1.0.16

    Alsa modules:
    snd_hda_intel

    Snd/soundcore:
    snd 79544 12 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_mixer_oss
    snd_seq
    snd_seq_device
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_pcm
    snd_timer
    snd_hwdep
    soundcore 24264 1 snd

    Alsa cards:
    0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
    HDA Intel at 0xfebf8000 irq 21

    Codec:

    Codec: Realtek ALC888

    note:all the models for ALC888 didn't work for me so far

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    Quote Originally Posted by SUSE_Teq350 View Post
    ...
    Enter Sound Problem here: sound is played from speakers and headphones at the same time. ... Laptop:MSI ... number GX700 ... plugs: 3 ...number of speakers... 5 ... digital receiver... yes .... openSUSE 11.0 (i586) ... 2.6.25.5-1.1-pae
    ...
    Alsa driver: 1.0.16rc2
    dpkg path:
    Alsa utils: 1.0.16... Codec: Realtek ALC888
    There could be many things wrong, ... but I can not tell based on the "filtered" paste you gave me. So please, provide the following ....the output URL(s) [ NOT your summary ] generated by running the audio troubleshooting guide's two diagnostic scripts in an xterm/konsole while your laptop is connected to the internet:
    Code:
    wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    and when prompted for a password in the following script enter your root password, and type NO for every question that you do NOT understand
    Code:
    su -c 'wget -O tsalsa wget http://home.cfl.rr.com/infofiles/tsalsa && bash tsalsa'
    Also please provide the output of:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound


    Also, a cautionary note, if you change your configuration in the middle of this help request, I will need the above run again. I can not help with a moving configuration.

    Thankyou.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Soundcard Settings on an Realtek hda-intel chip (SuSE 11

    general pastebin - teq - post number 1064076
    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-tools-gui-1.0.16.91.git20080610-1.3
    alsa-1.0.16.92.git20080617-3.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16.92.git20080617-1.3
    alsa-driver-unstable-kmp-pae-1.0.16.20080704_2.6.25.5_1.1-1.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-driver-kmp-pae-1.0.16.20080706_2.6.25.5_1.1-1.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1

    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.10-26.1
    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.10-26.1
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-gconf-0.9.10-26.1
    libpulsecore4-0.9.10-26.1
    gstreamer-0_10-pulse-0.9.7-42.pm.1
    pulseaudio-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.10-26.1

    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch-dig
    # u1Nb.Tpl9SMkJSdD:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel


    ok, i will not change or update or do anything that might alter this, thanks for your willingness to help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •