Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No sound with SUSE 11

ledgeexplo NNTP User

Exclamation No sound with SUSE 11

Hello all. I am pretty new to Linux so I am not sure what to do. Just installed SUSE 11 as a duel boot with Windows. I have a Japanese computer because I live in Japan and started usin Linux because I wanted my computer in English. It is an "all in one" machine. It is a Valuestar VW900/D. I believe the chipset is as follows:

It uses the Intel 82915GV / 82801FB chipset.
    The sound chip is the ADI-company's AD1981B.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!

Blog Entries

Default Re: No sound with SUSE 11

Quote Originally Posted by ledgeexplo View Post
    It is an "all in one" machine. It is a Valuestar VW900/D. I believe the chipset is as follows:

It uses the Intel 82915GV / 82801FB chipset.
    The sound chip is the ADI-company's AD1981B.
    Can you work your way through the openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide:
    SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE
    Be certain to install alsa-firmware, rebooting afterward to test.

Also, some 11.0 users are having problem with pulse-audio. You could try removing that (with an intention of restoring it back later, so take notes as to what you remove).

Could you also provide the output of:
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    and I'll provide you an exact entry (such as model=laptop) applicable to an AD1981B to add to your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file that might help.

GeneralKael NNTP User

One thing that you might need to do is go into YAST and make sure that the volume is set correctly on your sound card. All of my channel volumes were set at the lowest setting.

-Scott

ledgeexplo NNTP User

Hello,

I have tried to install alsa and it didn't fix the problem. I also followed the help section with no prevail. Any more suggestions?

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by ledgeexplo View Post
    Hello,