Virtual Machine Performance Recommendations

I am new to setting up a virtual machine, and am confident it will be straightforward. I am anxious to finally make linux my primary OS, but cannot get rid of Windows since I need Adobe Apps and a few other windows only apps that i need for work. I am looking for the best performance I can get and plan on using XEN with openSuse 11 GM. I just built a nice new system, vt-d capable and very high performance. Though I have a few questions:

From what I have read, I should be able to run a virtual machine off a bootable windows partition. Are there any performance benefits or draw backs to this? (cannot find anything related to performance).

Performance wise for photoshop, which virtual machine setup would you recommend?

As far as shared storage, I have read that I can set up a samba share so my windows box can access my linux files. I definitely need shared storage since I will be developing web apps on linux, and doing graphics for them on windows, are there any better ways to share storage?

Other than that, i would appreciate any advice anyone can give me in setting this virtual machine up. I am looking for the best performance i can get for the windows vm, since I sometimes work on very large raster images in PS for print.

Thank you in advance.

I’d recommend Wine for Photoshop before I’d recommend a VM.

wine does not work with the latest adobe products (cs2 or cs3), way too bugy. plus, its not just photoshop, its other adobe products as well as a few other windows apps.

Fair enough. I haven’t used Xen so I can’t help there, but I have CS2 working in Wine with no real problems.

I don’t really use any another Adobe apps, so I couldn’t tell you about those. I can export to PDF with Ghostscript and OOo so I no longer need Acrobat.

You should also look at Koffice 2’s version of Krita. Between that and digiKam, I rarely use Photoshop anymore. Both are considerably faster.