Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    I've been having a problem in the 11.0 betas that I thought nothing about, but it has carried over to the GM. This did work in 10.3.

    I cannot ping machines on my local network by name. I can ping outside sites by name. Pinging by IP address works inside and out.

    All network configuration is supplied by DHCP. The name servers are correct. I have disabled IPv6. The machine has a integrated Intel 10/100 network card.

    Where can I start troubleshooting this? When pinging by name, I get a "unknown host" return.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    No issues with it here...

    Some thoughts:

    -Have you checked the search domain that is applied?
    -Can you ping by name when using the full name?
    -What info does dig and nslookup return?
    Have a lot of fun!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    Quote Originally Posted by Magic31 View Post
    Have you checked the search domain that is applied?
    Search domain is correct, verified in YaST and /etc/resolv.conf.

    -Can you ping by name when using the full name?
    No, same failure.

    -What info does dig and nslookup return?
    I get a "status: SERVFAIL" with dig on internal sites. The primary DNS server even fails on its own name.

    nslookup will reply with the correct IP address of the name queried.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    if the primary DNS server can't resolve it's own name it wont be set to authoritative and resolving can/will fail if i remember correctly. I assume your DNS server is internal, is this also a new setup? If so I would focus on that first... or are other workstations resolving correctly?
    Have a lot of fun!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    Quote Originally Posted by Magic31 View Post
    if the primary DNS server can't resolve it's own name it wont be set to authoritative and resolving can/will fail if i remember correctly. I assume your DNS server is internal, is this also a new setup? If so I would focus on that first... or are other workstations resolving correctly?
    Yes, the DNS server is internal. We actually have three DNS servers. This isn't a new setup, I've only been here a year but this is the way it has been setup/working. This is the only machine with SuSE 10.4, it had Linux Mint 5 on it before with no problems. I also have a Macbook with 10.5.3, and my co-worker has Ubuntu 8.04 and Linux Mint 5 with no problems. The rest of the network is Windows XP machines. The DNS servers are all Windows Server 2003.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,235

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.

    narcoleptic wrote:
    > I've been having a problem in the 11.0 betas that I thought nothing
    > about, but it has carried over to the GM. This did work in 10.3.
    >
    > I cannot ping machines on my local network by name. I can ping outside
    > sites by name. Pinging by IP address works inside and out.
    >
    > All network configuration is supplied by DHCP. The name servers are
    > correct. I have disabled IPv6. The machine has a integrated Intel
    > 10/100 network card.
    >
    > Where can I start troubleshooting this? When pinging by name, I get a
    > "unknown host" return.
    >
    >


    If you're pinging hosts ending in .local, turn off mdns in /etc/host.conf.

  7. #7
    adrenaline_nz NNTP User

    Default Re: Cannot ping by name in 11.0 GM.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •