Windows - Linux Network - problems accessing files

Hello
my second problem…
I have with the aid of a very good how-to been able to set up a Linux-Windows Network.
I can see the Windows folder (Shared Docs) in Suse and from the Windows machine I can see the Samba server. When I dbl-click from the Linux machine on SharedDocs, I’m being told the folder does not exist.
And if I try to access the samba server from the Windows machine I need a password. But neither the root or my user login work.
What do I do?
Please make your answers foolproof, as I’m still a noob with Linux and I definately have no idea about setting up networks.
Thanks
g

Hi

First turn off the Suse firewall and any third-party firewall on the windows machine until you get this sorted. Makes the problem less complicated.

I can see the Windows folder (Shared Docs) in Suse and from the Windows machine I can see the Samba server. When I dbl-click from the Linux machine on SharedDocs, I’m being told the folder does not exist.

Check the workgroup name in windows and Suse are the same. In Suse the workgroup name is in the file /etc/samba/smb.conf and you can look into that with your file browser. When they are the same, if the problem persists then post here the contents of the file smb.conf at /etc/samba/smb.conf.

And if I try to access the samba server from the Windows machine I need a password. But neither the root or my user login work.
What do I do?

You must add a user to the Samba user database, suppose your username is “billy”. Open a console and type this and then follow the bouncing ball:

sudo smbpasswd -a billy

Then supply those credentials from windows.

adding the user to the samba database worked. Windows can now access my files. I turned off the Windows firewall but still get the message, that the folder (shareddocs on Windows) does not exist.
Am I missing something?:confused:

swerdna:it was your excellent howto that I followed for setting up the LAN - Thank you very much :slight_smile: