Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dcop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    526

    Default dcop

    I was following the instructions from this url:

    Synchronizing a BlackBerry in Linux cb.blog

    Trying to get my mom's blackberry to work in the openSUSE box I just set up for her. I was stopped in the very first few steps. Amarok didn't recognize the memory card, or the blackberry as a device as all. Amarok prompted me to run a dcop command from a terminal to check the status of dcop, the command didn't work. It looks like I don't even have dcop running at all.

    I installed kdbus, rebooted and the same thing.

    Is there anything I need to do to configure it to run?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    526

    Default Re: dcop

    Gratuitous bumpage occuring in this post.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: dcop

    Firstly: I have no hands-on experience with setting up blackberry's.

    My phone (LG Shine) has several modes I can put it in for USB access.

    Flash-card mode, where it acts like a flash drive when plugged in.

    serial-port/modem mode, where it acts like a typical phone and requires special handling to copy files into/outof

    no-access mode, where it doesn't respond at all to usb connections.


    Is it possible you're in one of the last two modes, rather than flash-card mode?

    What you can do is monitor /var/log/messages while you plug and unplug your phone.

    Start out with phone NOT plugged in to the computer.

    From a console (or Konsole!), become root

    su - root (you'll be prompted to enter root's passwd)

    then

    tailf /var/log/messages

    You'll see the last 10-20 lines of the system log.

    Plug phone in, and read what new entries are shown. I often find that pressing enter a few times before doing anything helps as it puts a few blank lines on the screen so you can see where the new lines are added. Also, making the konsole as wide as possible helps as it reduces the wrapping of the longer lines.

    You should see some lines talking about your phone, and ultimately something mentioning drive 'sdx' and stuff. (x being next drive letter, depends on how many drives you have in system)

    If you don't see anything like this, maybe check the 'connectivity mode' or whatever they call it on the blackberry.

    In any case, concerning Amarok...

    Did you try the 'detect device' button the 'device' tab?

    Did you try the 'autodetect' in the settings menu?

    Yup, that'd be the extent of the stuff to try first. But I'd wager your (her!) phone may be set up for non-flash access by default. (my phone was)

    Hope this helps

    Take Care,

    Lornix
    lornix@lornix.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    526

    Default Re: dcop

    I did configure the Blackberry to use Mass Storage Mode, so it show up as a Mass Storage device when plugged into a USB port.

    And I did try the Autodetect thing in Amarok.

    I will tail my message log and see what I can find there.

    I'm curious if anyone knows however if dcop runs normally in openSUSE, or how to enable it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: dcop

    dcop is the underlying message passing mechanism of KDE.

    if you type 'dcop' by itself in a console, you should get a list of things that are on the dcop 'bus'.

    I have found that it is VERY strict on case matching. so simply mistyping something one letter off by case (P vs p) can cause things to not work.

    Does the phone show up as a drive when you plug it in?

    If so, you can set it up via Amarok -> Settings -> Configure Amarok -> Media Devices

    The choose 'generic audio player', provide a name, and the /Media/path-to-phone

    Should (fingers crossed) work then. But this relies on the fact that the phone is being seen as a drive in the first place.

    Hey! Something occurred to me... is the flash-card in phone formatted? Does the phone see the card properly? I had this problem too when I shifted a card from linux use to phone use... had to put the FAT32 filesystem back on it. (I usually reformat the FAT32 filesystem to reduce the cluster size on flash cards, smaller clusters -> better usage of space with many smaller files)

    Take Care,

    Lornix
    lornix@lornix.com

  6. #6
    chip_bennett NNTP User

    Default Re: dcop

    Quote Originally Posted by enderandrew View Post
    I was following the instructions from this url:

    Synchronizing a BlackBerry in Linux cb.blog

    Trying to get my mom's blackberry to work in the openSUSE box I just set up for her. I was stopped in the very first few steps. Amarok didn't recognize the memory card, or the blackberry as a device as all. Amarok prompted me to run a dcop command from a terminal to check the status of dcop, the command didn't work. It looks like I don't even have dcop running at all.

    I installed kdbus, rebooted and the same thing.

    Is there anything I need to do to configure it to run?
    Hello all,

    I am the author of the how-to you linked (which I found thanks to the forum's trackback). I am a Kubuntu user (and by no means expert), but I thought I would drop in and offer any assistance I could.

    Also, if you find anything that may need updating in the how-to (even if it is OpenSUSE specific) please let me know. I would be happy to make it as useful to as many as possible.

  7. #7
    chip_bennett NNTP User

    Default Re: dcop

    Quote Originally Posted by enderandrew View Post
    I was following the instructions from this url:

    Synchronizing a BlackBerry in Linux cb.blog

    Trying to get my mom's blackberry to work in the openSUSE box I just set up for her. I was stopped in the very first few steps. Amarok didn't recognize the memory card, or the blackberry as a device as all. Amarok prompted me to run a dcop command from a terminal to check the status of dcop, the command didn't work. It looks like I don't even have dcop running at all.

    I installed kdbus, rebooted and the same thing.

    Is there anything I need to do to configure it to run?
    Hello all,

    I am the author of the how-to you linked (which I found thanks to the forum's trackback). I am a Kubuntu user (and by no means expert), but I thought I would drop in and offer any assistance I could.

    Also, if you find anything that may need updating in the how-to (even if it is OpenSUSE specific) please let me know. I would be happy to make it as useful to as many as possible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: dcop

    Quote Originally Posted by enderandrew View Post
    I'm curious if anyone knows however if dcop runs normally in openSUSE, or how to enable it.
    dcop is a mandatory component for KDE3, in fact I don't think it will run without it. It was dropped in KDE4 in favor of dbus, but any KDE3 apps will still load it.

    Sorry, this probably doesn't help your issue, but just wanted to answer the question about dcop. Hopefully between lornix and chip_bennett, it may be more useful...

    Cheers,
    KV

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: dcop

    else where wrote:

    >
    > enderandrew;1828359 Wrote:
    >> I'm curious if anyone knows however if dcop runs normally in openSUSE,
    >> or how to enable it.

    >
    > dcop is a mandatory component for KDE3, in fact I don't think it will
    > run without it. It was dropped in KDE4 in favor of dbus, but any KDE3
    > apps will still load it.
    >
    > Sorry, this probably doesn't help your issue, but just wanted to answer
    > the question about dcop. Hopefully between lornix and chip_bennett, it
    > may be more useful...
    >
    > Cheers,
    > KV
    >
    >


    Hey! Learn something new everyday!

    Thank you for the information about dcop / dbus usage in KDE 3 & 4. That
    explains some of the 'oddness' I've felt tinkering with KDE 4 apps lately.
    Y'know, something's changed, but you can't put finger on it?

    --
    L R Nix
    lornix@lornix.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •