Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: "kdemediamanager not running"?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default "kdemediamanager not running"?

    Anybody else seen this? It is preventing me from using the File>Open>Browse menu in any app at all to find files on my USB HDD, although I can use Dolphin and open files directly from there. I googled ""kdemediamanager not running" but just got a pile of forum posts from 2006.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    I've never seen this before, but have you tried typing kmediamanager in the run box?

    It doesn't seem as if I have it on my system (KDE 3.5.9 with Suse 10.3) but that would be the first thing I would try if I received that error.
    lysdestic@suseforums:~>make install --not-war

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lysdestic View Post
    I've never seen this before, but have you tried typing kmediamanager in the run box?

    It doesn't seem as if I have it on my system (KDE 3.5.9 with Suse 10.3) but that would be the first thing I would try if I received that error.

    Thanks for the reply. It's nice to know I can get somethings right - that was the first thing I tried.

    Nothing happens when I type either "kdemediamanager", "mediamanager" or "kmediamanager" in the Run box. From what urened up in Google, I think it's a KDE4 component, apparently not 100% functional at present.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    I checked my install, no command. I even ran yast (which has the KDE4 repos enabled) and found nothing.

    Outside of that I really have no ideas.

    I assume you are running KDE 4? I have it installed, but it is buggy on my box, so I don't run it.
    lysdestic@suseforums:~>make install --not-war

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    I'm bringing this back up because when I installed 11.1RC1, I still got exactly the same error message: "kdemediamanager not running" - what is it, what is it supposed to do, and why isn't it running?
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  6. #6
    maxqnz NNTP User

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?


    I'm bringing this back up because when I installed 11.1RC1, I still got
    exactly the same error message: "kdemediamanager not running" - what is
    it, what is it supposed to do, and why isn't it running?


    --
    What is a pieriansipist?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    maxqnz's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=164
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=385848


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,393
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    I think the relevant process is

    kded (for kde3)
    kded4 (for kde4)

    With KDE3 you can set it via control centre > kde components > service manager. (Similar process for KDE4).

  8. #8
    deano ferrari NNTP User

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?


    The process is called

    kded (for kde3)
    kded4 (for kde4)

    With KDE3 you can set it via control centre > kde components > service
    manager


    --
    deano_ferrari
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    deano_ferrari's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=122
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=385848


  9. #9

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?

    Hi
    I also get this message "KDE media manager not running" error when I start up the computer. I checked the forums and found two threads dealing with it, but they both are a dead end. When I go t control center etc. I don't find anything related to this function. KDE works fine otherwise, i.e. I can do anything with any media.
    Thanks for the help peeps.

  10. #10
    arboon NNTP User

    Default Re: "kdemediamanager not running"?


    Hi
    I also get this message "KDE media manager not running" error when I
    start up the computer. I checked the forums and found two threads
    dealing with it, but they both are a dead end. When I go t control
    center etc. I don't find anything related to this function. KDE works
    fine otherwise, i.e. I can do anything with any media.
    Thanks for the help peeps.


    --
    arboon
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    arboon's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=14123
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=385848


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •