Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    present moment
    Posts
    80

    Lightbulb 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Hello to All!
    DHCP not enabled; manual config on Dell 10/100 ethernet card.
    Does not connect on work lan or web.

    I installed SUSE 10.3 on a second partition of a 320GB Dell M1330 laptop.

    I boot up at work with the cat5 cable plugged in hot to the laptop.

    The Dell 10/100 ethernet card shows along with the Intel 4965 wireless card.

    I have configured the ethernet with the proper
    IP: 192.168.xx.xx
    Subnet: 255.255.252.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.xx.x
    Preferred DNS server:192.168.xx.x

    My proxy is a "squid/2.5.STABLE6" with no password or username just an address of 192.168.xx.x port: xxxx

    DHCP is not enabled, all manual install.

    I open administrator with yast and go to network config.
    inputting the above information with choosing the ethernet card does not connect me to the network or web.
    The proxy config does not test either.

    Any ideas at what I am missing?

    Thankyou for your help,
    Chetanji

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    present moment
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Forgot to mention that I have disabled IPv6 as well for this doesn't work with the work lan.
    I am also on KDE 3.
    Everything about the work lan is configured properly except maybe the 'hostname'.
    This remains a little confusing,
    I assume it is the machine name, such as "ATECH-xxxxxxxxx"

    When I get a chance today I will paste results of:
    * lspci
    * ifconfig
    * route
    from the console.

    thanks,
    Chetanji

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    hello chetanji,

    1. you wrote: Subnet: 255.255.252.0

    That's a valid but uncommon subnet. Is it possible you mean it to be 255.255.255.0, a standard class C /24 subnet?

    2. can you ping the squid server's IP from the client?
    3. can you ping the client from the squid server or another pc?
    --Khan St Preest

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,683
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    A /22 is uncommon for a home subnet perhaps, but not out of the question at a workplace where the admin may choose any size of subnet to suit the user base. After all class A, B and C are historical limitations now.

    OP, what do you really mean by Internet does not work? If you were thinking that the settings in YaST for proxies will control the browser, they don't, those settings are for repository fetching. You have to configure the browser for the proxy in the browser controls.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Hello Ken, I agree that a /22 isn't "out of the question". It is unusual enough, even in a large network, that I think it's worth asking about just to be sure that's what he intended. I've been a net admin for 12 years and I've yet to see supernets used on the end clients of a production network. (Although they're common as grass in our routing tables... and that's a good thing)

    I don't want to hijack this thread, but you raise a question that intrigues me... when and why supernet? Seems that once you have more than /24 devices you'd probably want to divvy up the broadcast domains anyway. Interested in your thoughts... and resolving Chetanji's issues too of course.
    --Khan St Preest

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    present moment
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Thanks for all the help,
    I was away for most of yesterday.

    Indeed the Mask is 255.255.252.0 This is a 4000 to 5000 user network. I do appreciate that this is a bit different than the usual mask.

    Here is my lspci, ifconfig, & route in control window, with no network plugged in at the time.

    Code:
    linux-1kug:~ #   inux-1kug:~ # lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 0c)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 02)
    00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
    00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
    00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8400M GS (rev a1)
    03:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
    03:01.1 Generic system peripheral [Class 0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
    03:01.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 12)
    03:01.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
    03:01.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
    09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
    0c:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN Network Connection (rev 61)
    Code:
    linux-1kug:~ # ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1D:09:3F:ED:6A
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
              Interrupt:17
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:4012 (3.9 Kb)  TX bytes:4012 (3.9 Kb)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1F:3B:01:B2:51
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-1F-3B-01-B2-51-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Code:
    linux-1kug:~ # route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
    linux-1kug:~ #
    Thankyou, for your expert help,
    Chetanji

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    present moment
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    OP, what do you really mean by Internet does not work? If you were thinking that the settings in YaST for proxies will control the browser, they don't, those settings are for repository fetching. You have to configure the browser for the proxy in the browser controls.
    Please forgive me for my confusing words.
    I did configure Firefox as usual with the proxy settings but it would not find server because of setup "not correct."

    Like you said for the repositories the proxy needs to be setup in Yast.
    This is what I am trying to figure out.

    Thanks, Chetanji

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    present moment
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by lccts1 View Post
    hello chetanji,

    1. you wrote: Subnet: 255.255.252.0

    That's a valid but uncommon subnet. Is it possible you mean it to be 255.255.255.0, a standard class C /24 subnet?

    2. can you ping the squid server's IP from the client?
    3. can you ping the client from the squid server or another pc?
    From my workstation I can ping the IP and the proxy and replies come back just fine.

    I don't have access to another PC on this "work" network, but have no doubt, it is just a simple
    'ping 192.168.xx.xx -t'

    I setup a Fedora 7 workstation with a NetGear wireless card a year ago with the same settings. It took a one foot in the grave Unix Guru to show me how you configure the network on that machine.
    I was never able to update the repositories because the proxy required a user name & password at the time, and I was never able to get it to work. The proxy was a bit of a nightmare then.

    I tried to install Fedora Core 9 two weeks ago, but it would not recognize the graphics card and several other devices for this Dell M1330 laptop.
    So I removed it and happily installed SUSE 10.3 because I heard so many good things about it, for quick config on new laptops.

    Thank you for your help,
    Chetanji

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,683
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by lccts1 View Post
    I don't want to hijack this thread, but you raise a question that intrigues me... when and why supernet? Seems that once you have more than /24 devices you'd probably want to divvy up the broadcast domains anyway. Interested in your thoughts... and resolving Chetanji's issues too of course.
    Why not any size net that suits the user base? The historical class C subnet is not special in any way now, unless the software is badly retarded. It's just a /24 subnet. A /22 subnet, which is 1022 usable address, isn't really that large.

    In practice I have seen /22, /23, /24 of course, and often /28 subnets.

    OP I would use telnet to check that you can actually reach the squid proxy.

    Code:
    telnet squid-server-IP 3128
    GET http://mozilla.com/ HTTP/1.0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: 10/100 eth config problems/No DHCP

    Ken, do appreciate your comments. I opened a thread here for this particular discussion. Suffice to say I'm already pretty much persuaded that my old ways need some mending.

    Chet... I ditto what Ken said to try next.
    --Khan St Preest

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •