Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What must you always install...?

Default What must you always install...?

So as a new user on Suse im still wondering what applications / programs and other neat things i am to install.

So far i have only installed
    - Java
    - Freezewire (i think its called)
    - Wine
    - and im currently in the middle of installing Compiz Fusion as it looks cool from what ive seen of it.

What must you always install before you are happy with it? Can you tell us the names and what each application does so others know.

Should be a good thread.

Default Re: What must you always install...?

I agree with most of the recommendations at this link.
    What Software Should I Use?

Blog Entries

Surely that depends on what you want to do with your computer. If you know what you want, then you can go look for the software to do it.

I would always want a web browser, a mail client, a photo album manager, and a music player. And being a developer, I want to be able to install any package I need. SUSE has always had a good choice and is getting better with more repositories.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    Surely that depends on what you want to do with your computer.
    I agree with Ken_Yap here. But in my case, I have a heavy bias toward multimedia apps on my PC, mainly because that is where my interests currently exist.
    Quote Originally Posted by harryc56 View Post
    I agree with most of the recommendations at this link.What Software Should I Use?
    Thats a neat link! I was not aware of all the FTP clients mentioned, and that has me thinking.

Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    I would always want a web browser, a mail client, a photo album manager, and a music player.
    Agree with all of that.

My browser of choise (firefox), konqueror (file manager/browser), java (by default, I think), and part of the office apps I like (open office) comes with the basic DVD install.