Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    I am starting a new thread because the old one got bogged down, and that may have been my fault. I thought I had explained my setup clearly, but a PM conversation suggested that I may not have done so. Thus, I am trying again:

    My notebook is Vista Home Premium only. My desktop is dualboot XP Pro/11.0RC2.

    My notebook has an Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter. My desktop has no wireless network adapter, it just has a Belkin wirelss router plugged into it and into my D-Link ADSL modem. All the lspci and lsusb outputs I have posted were from my desktop, not my notebook, since I do not have Suse on the notebook. In fact, I couldn't even get the LiveCD to run on the notebook.

    Once again, here is the problem: When my dektop PC (dualboot XP Pro/11.0RC2) is in XP, the Vista-only notebook can see and connect to the network. When the DESKTOP PC is in Suse, the notebook cannot see or connect to the network.

    I hope that this time I have explained the situation clearly. What I am seeking to find out is this: Is there anything I need to do in my desktop's Suse configuration to enable the notebook to see and connect to the WLAN?

    At the moment I'm 0 for 3 on queries here, with no word on the screensaver issue and no Hindi IME, so I apologise if my ealrier thread misled anyone or made it unclear what I was after. I hope that now the situation is clear. Thanks for all your replies and patience
    Last edited by maxqnz; 10-Jun-2008 at 22:51. Reason: fix typo
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    526

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    The AR5007EG is basically the one card I think MadWifi doesn't cover. There is a patch you can manually apply if you're running 32-bit.

    #1679 (Patch for AR2425 (AR5007EG) chipset) - madwifi.org - Trac

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by maxqnz View Post
    Once again, here is the problem: When my dektop PC (dualboot XP Pro/11.0RC2) is in XP, the Vista-only notebook can see and connect to the network. When the DESKTOP PC is in Suse, the notebook cannot see or connect to the network.
    Thankyou for making the effort to restate this. Clearly we were off on a wild goose chase on the previous thread, and my apologies for that.

    I am still not 100% certain I understand.

    With your notebook running Vista, and your Desktop openSUSE (at the same time), am I correct that your Vista notebook can connect to the Internet, but it can NOT see files on openSUSE Desktop PC ?

    Is that the problem?

    If so, then simply install an application like WinSCP on your notebook Vista PC, and on your desktop openSUSE open up port #22. Then by using WinSCP on your Vista notebook PC, you can access your openSUSE desktop PC via the ssh protocol.

    Reading the openSUSE concepts page might help you. It has a networking top level description:
    Concepts - openSUSE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Thankyou for making the effort to restate this. Clearly we were off on a wild goose chase on the previous thread, and my apologies for that.

    I am still not 100% certain I understand.

    With your notebook running Vista, and your Desktop openSUSE (at the same time), am I correct that your Vista notebook can connect to the Internet, but it can NOT see files on openSUSE Desktop PC ?
    This is my own total fuzziness muddying the waters again, sadly. I mean that when the desktop is in Suse, the notebook cannot connect to anything. There is no internet access. The network I was referring to was the WLAN setup under XP. When the desktop is in Suse, the notebook is a totally isolated machine.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    sounds like you want the SUSE set up as a gateway/server ? for filesharing/internet sharing ? is this correct ?

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by maxqnz View Post
    My desktop has no wireless network adapter, it just has a Belkin wirelss router plugged into it and into my D-Link ADSL modem.
    I'm still trying to understand this, but I think Andy is close to being on the right path ...

    A question, can your desktop PC, when running openSUSE, access the internet via your Belkin router?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I'm still trying to understand this, but I think Andy is close to being on the right path ...

    A question, can your desktop PC, when running openSUSE, access the internet via your Belkin router?
    I honestly don't know. All I know is that when I look at the back of my PC, the ethernet cable from my ADSL modem is no longer plugged into my PC, but into the Belkin wireless router, and it's the Belkin's ethernet cable that's plugged into the PC. I am online in 11.0 RC2 right now, and have not had any trouble going online with either RC1 or 2. I must apologise again for the depths of my ignorance, but up until a week ago, I've only ever had 1 PC, so never bothered to learn about networking, despite having been using Linux for around 7 years.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Here's a tutorial for Internet Connection Sharing with either of Suse or Windows as the server (the one connected to the internet) and either Suse or windows as the client (the one connected tot he intenet via the server). Is that what you're after?
    openSUSE ICS: Internet Connection Sharing (Linux IP Masquerading) with Suse or Windows Servers
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    me thinking

    pc with ethernet( windows ) - belkin wireless - adsl modem - internet
    notebook ( windows ) - belkin wireless -adsl modem - internet

    looks about right ? then when you have the pc working with SuSE connected to internet via above method.and for some reason you cannot get the notebook to connect to the internet when SuSE is running on the pc ? if i'm right, this sounds strange. as the SuSE machine is using ethernet & the notebook wireless ( i presume ? )they should not conflict,unless they are both using the same ip address,e.g. both using 192.168.11.1 or whatever your network uses

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Networking Newbie needs help with Suse and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by deltaflyer44 View Post
    me thinking

    pc with ethernet( windows ) - belkin wireless - adsl modem - internet
    notebook ( windows ) - belkin wireless -adsl modem - internet

    looks about right ? then when you have the pc working with SuSE connected to internet via above method.and for some reason you cannot get the notebook to connect to the internet when SuSE is running on the pc ? if i'm right, this sounds strange. as the SuSE machine is using ethernet & the notebook wireless ( i presume ? )they should not conflict,unless they are both using the same ip address,e.g. both using 192.168.11.1 or whatever your network uses

    Andy
    You've certainly got the configuration spot on, and I'm pleased to see that I'm npot the only one stumped by the problem. The way you describew it is exactly how it is setup, and you've also summarised the problem. I will check the IPs, and let you know if that's the problem.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •