Problems with Samba and DHCP after a period of time.

Hey All

I am a total newbie to linux but have so far managed to get DNS, DHCP, Samba and Apache to work on our new server which is to replace services on our existing MS Server2003. I have setup Samba to authenticate to the MS2003 server so we can still use active directory etc.

Everything seems to work fine for a day or two and the wheels start falling off.
The network users suddenly can not access the Samba shares and the dhcp leases won’t renew on the work stations. When workstations can no longer access Samba shares the error is usually something along the lines of “you do not have permissions to use this resource” have to double check the exact wording on that though.

When i look in top everything looks fine as far as i can see. The CPU usage is only 2% or thereabouts, most times there is still a few GB of ram free.
I would not have thought it to be a hardware issue as it is a new intel server with quad core Zeon, 4GB Ram and SAS drives running SLES 10.3.

As soon as i reboot the SUSE machine all is ok again.

Does anybody have any hints or idea’s on how i can track down the problem.

hi sir…since u joined ur machine in ur ms domain…can i ask some steps coz i cant member my susebux to my ms domain…

and about ur dhcp server…do u have a log for viewing on whos leasing the addresses coz i too want to setup a suse dhcp server on my network…

thanks…

From the openSUSE Forums FAQ:

Welcome to the openSUSE Forums. Usually, business in our forums is conducted in English, however many of our community members speak other languages. If you prefer to use a language other than English, please feel free to do so and hopefully someone will get you a reply.

As not everybody in the forums has english as its first language can you please try to write real english (and not to sophisticated), including interpunction. For some it is already difficult enough to understand the posts (which may have typos :slight_smile: ).