Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,126

    Default Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Go here: Google Earth
    D/L: Download Google Earth 4.3 (beta) for PC, Mac or Linux
    ( it automatically gave me the Linux one)

    Moved "GoogleEarthLinux.bin" to /home/jim/bin

    In a terminal as user:
    Code:
    sh /home/jim/bin/GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    It will decompress, run the installer; & put an Icon on the desktop

    Cool
    Desktop Asus X-99 Viper. uefi & secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1; Laptop: ASUS GL752VW Optimus, uefi+Secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1 & T-weed and IMac

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Thank's for reminding me to test that too! You can find me here,
    though you won't see me waving!

    5913'15.89"N
    18 8'37.66"E

    And it works great!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,126

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Hank,

    Thanks for sharing. Flew there; nice

    I'm here:

    home -- was just outside with the dogs
    3629'49.29"N
    9056'56.20"W

    ranch -- be there tomorrow (when the storms pass) working
    3616'31.51"N
    9058'57.79"W
    Desktop Asus X-99 Viper. uefi & secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1; Laptop: ASUS GL752VW Optimus, uefi+Secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1 & T-weed and IMac

  4. #4

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Very Nice.

    It *will* work in 11.0 RC1; however, some cards (notably newer ATI cards using the closed-source drivers, which are *required* to successfully use Compiz-Fusion; this definitely applies to X1xxx and newer) have compositing bugs in their drivers (this is true of the closed-source 8.5 Catalyst drivers, and may be true of other drivers, both closed-source and open-source). I've used GE in Windows; the fact that (in most cases) you can easily get a fly-in-the-sky view of darn near any address on the planet is a decided wake-up call (and not necessarily a good one, either).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    A little strange to me, I'm on an XPRESS 1250 integrated and
    Catalyst 8.5 and have never had so few problems with that com-
    bination. Even though there's no other support for that chip
    in sax's configuration files than for the radeonhd drivers.
    So I suppose the inner working of sax has been updated and now
    uses xrandr rather than configuration files.

    And snakedriver, you're not running a ranch in Pocahontas!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    got a quick question about google earth how often do they update the pictures i guess you would call it cause if i look at my town theres a feild some place where there is a high school for about 2 yrs now

  7. #7

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    runs fine when loaded but minutes to load, don't know if it's because of my updating the xorg rpms from the xorg repo or the Nvidia drivers (running latest) but the startup timies is huge for an app.
    openSUSE Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5 & KDE 4.14.x, pretty current proprietary Nvidia drivers (self-compiled)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Quote Originally Posted by hank_se View Post
    A little strange to me, I'm on an XPRESS 1250 integrated and
    Catalyst 8.5 and have never had so few problems with that com-
    bination. Even though there's no other support for that chip
    in sax's configuration files than for the radeonhd drivers.
    So I suppose the inner working of sax has been updated and now
    uses xrandr rather than configuration files.

    And snakedriver, you're not running a ranch in Pocahontas!
    Actually, both the open-source and closed-source ATI drivers use xrandr 1.2 (which is included since openSuSE 10.3). (However, you can still specify custom modes in special situations; xrandr still supports this.) So (in the case of ATI's chipsets) there's no reason *not* to use xrandr.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wildwood, New Jersey
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Hey snakedriver,

    Thanks for that. You may remember me from a previous life. LOL!

    I'd been running Ubuntu / Linux Mint forever.

    But, came back to SuSE. Cool!
    Regards,

    JJMacey
    Phoenix, Arizona - The Valley Of The Sun
    A Linux Web Site, And A Linux Blog. All Linux! I've been there, and done that!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,126

    Default Re: Google Earth on 11.0 rc1

    Quote Originally Posted by jjmacey View Post
    Hey snakedriver,

    Thanks for that. You may remember me from a previous life. LOL!
    Hey Adler! You ever get the gold business up & runing? You should have made some big bucks by now
    Desktop Asus X-99 Viper. uefi & secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1; Laptop: ASUS GL752VW Optimus, uefi+Secure Boot, Win10, Leap 15.1 & T-weed and IMac

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •