Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

    I don't if these are bugs, problems with KDE 3.14159264, faults of my own making, or a mix of all of the above. Even though I'm just testing the RC before the gold release, if I can get these fixed early, that will make the installation of the final version so much smoother.

    First, wireless networking. I've just got a new XP Pro box and a new Vista HP laptop. The desktop is wired, the laptop wireless. After a bit of playing around, installing LLT on the XP box etc., they now play nice together. Not so when the desktop is booted into RC1. Below is a text of an email I sent to the opensuse mailing list:
    -----------------------------------

    I am not only new to wireless, I'm new to having more than one PC, so I
    hope you'll bear with me. I copied this from the hardware info report:

    25: PCI 07.0: 0200 Ethernet controller
    [Created at pci.310]
    UDI: /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/pci_10de_3ef
    Unique ID:
    SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:07.0
    SysFS BusID: 0000:00:07.0
    Hardware Class: network
    Model: "nVidia MCP61 Ethernet"
    Vendor: pci 0x10de "nVidia Corporation"
    Device: pci 0x03ef "MCP61 Ethernet"

    and if that's not the relevant information, I took a screenshot and posted it here:
    http://maxqnzs.com/screenshots/network.png

    I must confess that I don't know if the PC is set as an access point, but I guess it is. The config page for my Belkin wireless router says that the router is not set as an access point, if that helps. I have a DSL modem connected to the wireless router, if the cabling is anything to go by. I apologise for my shocking ignorance, but as I have only one fully functioning hand, I tend to leave hardware configuration to paid tech providers. My local need a nerd came in, setup the wireless and helped me through getting my XP Pro desktop and Vista HP laptop talking to each other, and left.

    Even though I am profoundly ignorant in this, I am a reasonably quick study, able to follow instructions and unafraid of the CLI. Just getting the Vista laptop to see the XP Pro desktop required a bit of CLI work in XP to enablle LLT, so I'm quite ready to tinker with my Suse setup to get it working, or at least broaden my knowledge in the process of trying.
    .
    Last edited by oldcpu; 08-Jun-2008 at 15:38. Reason: Title changed to make clear this is a help request

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Wireless networking in RC1 - TOTAL newbie alert!

    maxqnz, thanks for your post.

    I'm not a wireless expert, but there are many on this forum, and one of them will surely chime in and help you. But in the interim, if I read your post correctly, you posted the details for your (Visa OS) Laptop's eth0 wired connection, when booted to openSUSE-11.0. What we need is information on your wireless info (not your wired)!!

    Please type:
    hwinfo --wlan
    and paste any output here.

    Also, take a look at the wired forum stickie at this location:
    Welcome - openSUSE Forums
    and in particular, provide output from "lspci" (when run with root permissions) and if that doesn't provide wireless info, also try "lsusb", per that stickie!!

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Wireless networking in RC1 - TOTAL newbie alert!

    there probably has a bug on the networkmanager. However I do not use networkmanager, so I could not confirm this with you.

    you could search bugzilla to see if that is your problem.

  4. #4
    James Taylor NNTP User

    Default Re: Wireless networking in RC1 - TOTAL newbie alert!

    Network Manager is broken in 11.0.

    I'm not sure why there was a need to change it from the way it was in
    10.3. Network Manager in 10.3 is nearly perfect for me. Unless the way
    it is broken is effecting what seems to be the way it works, NM in 11.0
    is a horrible step backward from 10.3

    -jt


    On Sun, 08 Jun 2008 14:28:40 +0000, chinese ys wrote:

    > there probably has a bug on the networkmanager. However I do not use
    > networkmanager, so I could not confirm this with you.
    >
    > you could search bugzilla to see if that is your problem.



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Wireless networking in RC1 - TOTAL newbie alert!

    I think they rewrote the code for network part to make it work more stable, especially for wireless card.

  6. #6
    James Taylor NNTP User

    Default Re: Wireless networking in RC1 - TOTAL newbie alert!

    I'd have to say they haven't succeeded...in a big way.
    -jt

    On Sun, 08 Jun 2008 19:58:39 +0000, chinese ys wrote:

    >
    > I think they rewrote the code for network part to make it work more
    > stable, especially for wireless card.



  7. #7

    Default Re: Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

    Wireless is hopefully going to be the hardest part of 11 (I don't mean its good that it's bad )

    If all goes well, it'll be fixed in 11.1
    "If it ain't broke, find something wrong with it"

  8. #8
    Larry Finger NNTP User

    Default Re: Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

    some-guy wrote:
    > Wireless is hopefully going to be the hardest part of 11 (I don't mean
    > its good that it's bad )
    >
    > If all goes well, it'll be fixed in 11.1


    I installed / for 11.0 RC1 in a separate partition from the one used by 10.3.
    The partitions used for /home and /boot are common. After installation, I
    copied the firmware for my BCM4312 from the directory on the 10.3 partition
    to the new 11.0 partition. After I did that, NM came up quickly and even
    retrieved my WPA passphrase from the KDE wallet.

    The only difference that I noted between 10.3 and 11.0's version of NM is
    that you get separate icons for wired and wireless interfaces similar to what
    happens in Windoze.

    Due to vendors such as Broadcom that prohibit the distribution of firmware,
    wireless will not work out of the box for many users; however, it has
    improved a lot in the past few kernel and distro releases. In addition,
    several distros provide a script that will automagically download and install
    the firmware. Of course, you need a separate network connection.

    The bcm43xx project, which has allowed most BCM43xx users to escape the usage
    of ndiswrapper, is now working on developing open-source firmware, which will
    take care of this problem for Broadcom devices.

    All posters, newbies or not, should learn the following: When you report
    problems with any wireless device, you need to provide the output from 'lspci
    -n' that pertains to your wireless device. The information relating to your
    wired ethernet controller, such as provided by the OP in this thread, is useless.

    The second piece of information that is essential is the output from the
    dmesg command that pertains to wireless. This will tell you if the driver is
    having problems loading firmware, or if your device is too new for the driver
    to support, etc.

    Larry

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

    maxqnz, thanks again for your participation in our forum.

    Please, I am a bit puzzled by your post, and I am worried the interesting (to me) reponses to date are not addressing your problem. Please correct me if I am wrong, ... but is part of the problem the fact that you do not know where to start, to get wireless working on your laptop?

    If so, per my original post, we need DIFFERENT information, than what you provided in your original post. (Larry touches on this above).

    Please open an xterm/terminal/konsole (what ever you call it). On a PC equiped with KDE, you can do this by pressing <ALT><F2> and type "konsole".

    Then in that konsole, type "su" (no quotes) to get root permissions. Enter root password when prompted. Please keep that konsole open through out the following:

    In that konsole, please type:
    hwinfo --wlan
    and paste any output here.

    In that konsole, please also type:
    lspci
    Please also paste any output of that here.

    And finally, in case this wireless is structured with a USB interface, please also type:
    lsusb
    Please also paste the output of that here.

    Armed with that information, I think we will have a better idea as to the exact chipset/hardware your wireless has, and we may be able to better assist.

    And my apologies to you, and the others on this thread, if I have totally missed the "gist" of the thread (it won't be the first time for me! ).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Te Ika a Maui, Aotearoa
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Newbie requests help re:Wireless networking in RC1

    Thanks for your help, oldcpu. Here's the output you requested:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    linux-x01o:/home/t # hwinfo --wlan
    linux-x01o:/home/t # lspci
    00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
    00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
    00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
    00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
    00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAMController
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy LS
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Geforce 9600 GT 512mb (rev a1)
    linux-x01o:/home/t # lsusb
    bash: lsusb: command not found
    -----------------------------------------------------------

    As I said in a newsgroup, the problem could be summed up like this:
    As to the problem understanding what the Linux install on the desktop
    has to do with the wireless connection on my laptop, I don't understand
    that either. All I know is that when the desktop in in XP, the laptop
    can connect, when the desktop is in Suse, it can't.
    Thus, any assistance getting some clarity on the problem will be treasured.


    It was too long to post here, but I uploaded the output of "dmesg" to http://maxqnzs.com/backups/dmesg.txt in case there's something useful in there.
    likhaavat - the occasional musings of an owlish male child

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •