View RSS Feed

Recent Blogs Posts

1. Installing openSUSE LEAP-42.2 on two EFI PCs

by , 25-Dec-2016 at 06:09 (oldcpu's meandering thoughts on Computers, GNU/Linux and openSUSE)
    I installed openSUSE LEAP-42.2 on my Toshiba Z930 laptop, and also on my Core-i7 custom PC over the Christmas break. Both PCs use EFI and I am not very experienced with EFI, so I thought that this might be a good learning experience. The downside was I was doing this with a head cold (ie headache, mild-fever, stuff sinus, hacking cough ... etc .. which is not the smartest condition to be in when trying something new).

The Toshiba Z930 laptop installation experience was very smooth ...

Updated 04-Jan-2017 at 00:55 by oldcpu

Categories
    Uncategorized
  2. Create "Guest" user with passwordless login

If You use LightDM:

1. In Yast2 create guest user
    2. /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf :
    [SeatDefaults]
    autologin-user=guest
    autologin-user-timeout=7200

It seems all!
    Categories
    Uncategorized
  3. Creating a file option for installing RPM packages

Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    I wanted to be able to install a single RPM package again, so today I right-clicked on a RPM package, and chose 'Open With' > 'Other...', then entered
    Code:
    xdg-su -c "/sbin/yast2 sw_single %F"
    This created 'xdg-su.desktop in ~/.local/share/applications. I renamed this file to software-installer.desktop and edited it so that the name made more sense to me
    Code:
    Name=Software Installer
    There should be corresponding update in ~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list
    Categories
    Uncategorized
  4. Musings on the logic and discussions that lead to openSUSE LEAP-42.1

by , 24-Nov-2015 at 13:42 (oldcpu's meandering thoughts on Computers, GNU/Linux and openSUSE)
    This post provides my current views on openSUSE-LEAP currently at v.42.1.