Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: openSUSE 13.1 network config

  1. #1

    Default openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Hi.

    I'm having an interesting problem here. I'm using Virtualbox and I just did an upgrade from openSUSE 12.1 to 13.1 (x86_64). I was using a bridged network adapter in Virtualbox, with a fixed IP address in openSUSE.

    Now, after the upgrade, for some reason the IP changed to a different one, and no matter what I do, it comes up after reboot every time with that same IP - let's say it is X.Y.Z.67, when before I was using X.Y.Z.13.

    I tried setting the right IP in YaST, no go. I tried setting it to DHCP and back to manual, no go. If I look in /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-eth0, there is the right IP written there. But no matter what I do, when I reboot, the X.Y.Z.67 IP comes up. Oh, and dhcpcd is not running.

    The network connection otherwise still works. And another interesting thing - don't remember seeing it anytime before: when I do "ifconfig eth0 X.Y.Z.13 up", the default route gets deleted, and I have to add it again ?!?

    Does anyone have any idea what is going on, or what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

  2. #2

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Well if the IP number change did not effect performance I say its not a big deal.
    If its not causing you issues then isnt that a good thing and more of a minor quirk?

  3. #3

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by MadmanRB View Post
    Well if the IP number change did not effect performance I say its not a big deal.
    If its not causing you issues then isnt that a good thing and more of a minor quirk?
    I have a bunch of scripts that use a hardcoded IP, so it is at least an annoyance, since I will have to update them all. But I'd say not being able to set the IP is not a good think, or a quirk, it is quite a huge bug, don't you think?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by rkrajnc View Post
    ...
    Now, after the upgrade,
    ...
    when I do "ifconfig eth0 X.Y.Z.13 up",
    ...
    !
    You need to read the release-notes. They should be found in YaST. The network naming convention has changed and "eth0" et al are deprecated. Make sure that you have the release version of 13.1 plus updates. The "yast2-network" module did not work properly with the new names until recently. Mixing "ip addr" (or the old "ifconfig"), and the old naming convention, with YaST and the new naming leads to confusion.
    --
    slàinte,
    rayH

  5. #5

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    You need to read the release-notes. They should be found in YaST. The network naming convention has changed and "eth0" et al are deprecated. Make sure that you have the release version of 13.1 plus updates. The "yast2-network" module did not work properly with the new names until recently. Mixing "ip addr" (or the old "ifconfig"), and the old naming convention, with YaST and the new naming leads to confusion.
    But an upgrade shouldn't change the old names.
    I still have eth0 and wlan0 here (and everything works fine).

    But he really could suffer from the problem mentioned in the release notes, that an interface might be configured twice.
    Code:
    4.3. Duplicated Network Interfaces
    
    The current version of systemd uses a new convention for assigning
    predictable names to network interfaces. YaST is changed accordingly.
    
    
    Some reports indicate a bug in YaST when conversion from one naming scheme
    to another takes place. If the same network interface has two different
    names, you have been hit by this bug. In this case remove the different
    network interfaces in /etc/sysconfig/network and use YaST to configure the
    network anew.
    
    
    For more information about predictable network interface names, see http://
    www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/PredictableNetworkInterfaceNames/
    .

  6. #6

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Hi guys, thanks for your help.

    I did look at the release notes, but it seems it was an older version, didn't mention anything about the duplicate names etc. Also, it seems I have to upgrade / modernize my linux knowledge, since I'm still used to using ifconfig and route commands instead of the more modern ones

    Anyway, I also tried upgrading a openSUSE 12.3 machine, but the upgrade got botched up and didn't complete successfully. Since my openSUSE installations have been upgraded god knows how many times, I just decided to do a clean install and it works great. I'll try another upgrade from 12.1 to see if I can fix the ethernet errors, otherwise I'll just stick with the clean install.

    Cheers!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2013-11-20 13:06, wolfi323 wrote:

    > But an upgrade shouldn't change the old names.


    But it does.

    > I still have eth0 and wlan0 here (and everything works fine).


    Not me. I get the old name (eth0) which does not work, and the new name
    (ens33) which is not configured. I had to delete eth0 and configure
    ens33 to get network.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2013-11-21 10:56, rkrajnc wrote:
    > I did look at the release notes, but it seems it was an older version,


    You have to look at the local copy of the release notes, in
    "/usr/share/doc/release-notes/".

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  9. #9

    Default AW: Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-11-20 13:06, wolfi323 wrote:

    > But an upgrade shouldn't change the old names.


    But it does.
    It didn't here.

    > I still have eth0 and wlan0 here (and everything works fine).

    Not me. I get the old name (eth0) which does not work, and the new name
    (ens33) which is not configured. I had to delete eth0 and configure
    ens33 to get network.
    The point is, I guess, whether you have the interface names set in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules or not.
    If you have, they won't change on upgrade.

    Otherwise the default names are used for the interface, and those have changed in 13.1.

    In your case I guess there was still the config for eth0 present (in /etc/sysconfig/network), but the interface got a new name, so eth0 didn't work anymore.

    You can still rename the interfaces in YaST->Network Devices->Network Settings though:
    Select your interface and click on "Edit", then switch to the Hardware tab and click on "Change Name" next to "Device Name".
    This should create that rules file then.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    608

    Default Re: AW: Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    You can still rename the interfaces in YaST->Network Devices->Network Settings though:
    Select your interface and click on "Edit", then switch to the Hardware tab and click on "Change Name" next to "Device Name".
    This should create that rules file then.
    Is this how I would convert over to the new naming convention, or is there something else to do?

    I too am left with the eth0, eth1 ..... but would like to use the new standard.
    OS: Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    System:
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64)
    KDE 4.11.2

  11. #11

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by anika200 View Post
    Is this how I would convert over to the new naming convention, or is there something else to do?
    No. With this you can set any name _you_ want (well, within certain limits I guess )

    To get the new naming scheme, just remove the file /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules.
    And you should remove the old configuration files for eth0, eth1, ... from /etc/sysconfig/network/ as well of course (ifcfg-eth0 and so on).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2013-11-21 14:06, wolfi323 wrote:

    > The point is, I guess, whether you have the interface names set in
    > /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules or not.


    I don't use that.

    > If you have, they won't change on upgrade.
    >
    > Otherwise the default names are used for the interface, and those have
    > changed in 13.1.
    >
    > In your case I guess there was still the config for eth0 present (in
    > /etc/sysconfig/network), but the interface got a new name, so eth0
    > didn't work anymore.


    Of course I had the old config files, it was an upgrade.

    > You can still rename the interfaces in YaST->Network Devices->Network
    > Settings though:
    > Select your interface and click on "Edit", then switch to the Hardware
    > tab and click on "Change Name" next to "Device Name".
    > This should create that rules file then.


    Mmm.... interesting.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  13. #13

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-11-21 14:06, wolfi323 wrote:

    > The point is, I guess, whether you have the interface names set in
    > /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules or not.


    I don't use that.
    Right.
    And that's the reason why your interface names got changed to the new scheme.

    But if the interface names are set in that file, nothing changes on upgrade. If it does, it would be a bug.

    > In your case I guess there was still the config for eth0 present (in
    > /etc/sysconfig/network), but the interface got a new name, so eth0
    > didn't work anymore.


    Of course I had the old config files, it was an upgrade.
    And that was your problem. Apparently the old config files don't get removed on upgrade.

    I think I have seen a bug report about this from you, right?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2013-11-21 23:56, wolfi323 wrote:
    > I think I have seen a bug report about this from you, right?


    No, I reported the find on the factory mail list, as a RFC. If others
    suggest it is a bug, I write a bugzilla. I reported about half a dozen
    issues on bugzillas, but not this one.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    --
    slàinte,
    rayH

  16. #16

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    I've got an interesting problem with ifup configuration through yast. Clean new installation as a virtual machine guest under openSUSE 12.3 running KVM selects virtio as the network driver type (seems proper). Initial boot following load retains my network configuration (eth0 is using virtio). Next boot, the configuration shows "ethernet card 0 - not connected". If I go into yast2 lan, and flip it to network manager, then back to ifup ... the NIC begins working again. If I boot again, I'm back where I started. I have removed the configuration and re-added it (as previous posters have also done), but this has not changed the behavior.

    It's probably not such a great choice installing openSUSE 13.1 as a guest on an openSUSE 12.3KVM box, but it's what I was playing with.

    Thoughts?

  17. #17

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by smoring View Post
    I've got an interesting problem with ifup configuration through yast. Clean new installation as a virtual machine guest under openSUSE 12.3 running KVM selects virtio as the network driver type (seems proper). Initial boot following load retains my network configuration (eth0 is using virtio). Next boot, the configuration shows "ethernet card 0 - not connected". If I go into yast2 lan, and flip it to network manager, then back to ifup ... the NIC begins working again. If I boot again, I'm back where I started. I have removed the configuration and re-added it (as previous posters have also done), but this has not changed the behavior.

    It's probably not such a great choice installing openSUSE 13.1 as a guest on an openSUSE 12.3KVM box, but it's what I was playing with.

    Thoughts?
    Follow-up:

    Using network manager, rather than using yast lan, I have been able to configure my static ip address and it's worked following reboots. What's disconcerting is that the ifup configuration through yast is apparently not observed. I did see in /var/log/messages that the service was being stopped just after committing the configuration changes for ifup. Thought that might help someone if they were experiencing the same problems.

  18. #18

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Right.
    And that's the reason why your interface names got changed to the new scheme.
    No, it is not. Interfaces on virtual systems were exempt from persistent naming and were never entered into this file. That's why users on virtual systems suddenly found their interfaces with changed names. On real hardware file was automatically maintained so there new names were not applied after update. It does not mean that interfaces always get desired names though ... so I would not count on it.

  19. #19

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Right.
    And that's the reason why your interface names got changed to the new scheme.
    No, it is not. Interfaces on virtual systems were exempt from persistent naming and were never entered into this file. That's why users on virtual systems suddenly found their interfaces with changed names.
    Yes it is.
    The reason, why his interface names got changed, _is_ that they are/were not listed in this file.
    And on upgrade, that file should not be deleted or changed.

    I didn't say anything as to why they were not in there in the first place.

  20. #20

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by smoring View Post
    Follow-up:

    Using network manager, rather than using yast lan, I have been able to configure my static ip address and it's worked following reboots. What's disconcerting is that the ifup configuration through yast is apparently not observed. I did see in /var/log/messages that the service was being stopped just after committing the configuration changes for ifup. Thought that might help someone if they were experiencing the same problems.
    I just ran through this same problem - your yast2 modules are probably out of date. Run zypper up and you should get a list of yast2 updates.

  21. #21

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Hi!
    Has anyone solved this out without making a clean installation?
    Windor$ is the SO which only can be fixed with clean reinstalling lol ;-)

    I've had the same problem with at least 3 machines already, always the same:
    upgrading from dvd from 12.3 to 13.1 and IP set itself ... no mater what I do, what I config, with yast, or editing files when machines reboot it takes the IP (the no configed IP)

    with the command:

    ifconfig eth0 x.y.z.21

    it does set the IP working until the next boot.

    any help will be welcome.


    saludos,
    Nicolás.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sao paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post

    You have to look at the local copy of the release notes, in
    "/usr/share/doc/release-notes/".
    This file simply doesn't exist.
    Clean install, openSUSE 13.1.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2013-11-20 11:16, MadmanRB wrote:
    >
    > Well if the IP number change did not effect performance I say its not a
    > big deal.
    > If its not causing you issues then isnt that a good thing and more of a
    > minor quirk?


    If can be quite major if other machines can not connect to it because
    the destination machine IP has changed!

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2014-02-06 18:56, estomagado wrote:
    >
    > robin_listas;2599641 Wrote:
    >>
    >> You have to look at the local copy of the release notes, in
    >> "/usr/share/doc/release-notes/".

    >
    > This file simply doesn't exist.
    > Clean install, openSUSE 13.1.


    Do you have release-notes-openSUSE-13.1... installed?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  25. #25

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    I tried to use the command `yast2network` but the terminal window says absolute path to `yast2` is `/sbin/yast2`so running it may require superuser privileges? What does that mean? Anyway I tried to connect Opensuse 13.1 to network

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by matrix View Post
    I tried to use the command `yast2network` but the terminal window says absolute path to `yast2` is `/sbin/yast2`so running it may require superuser privileges? What does that mean? Anyway I tried to connect Opensuse 13.1 to network
    It means you need to run as root
    Code:
    su -
    then
    Code:
    yast2 network

  27. #27

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Thx

    However, there is another thing. I launched the network card and it shows me Atheros WLAN controller (not configured) and RTL811/8168BPCI EXpress Gigabit Ethernet controller (not configured). Then there is device not configured > edit. After that it asks IP adress? Do I need to give it? I don`t think I even know it.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Quote Originally Posted by matrix View Post
    Thx

    However, there is another thing. I launched the network card and it shows me Atheros WLAN controller (not configured) and RTL811/8168BPCI EXpress Gigabit Ethernet controller (not configured). Then there is device not configured > edit. After that it asks IP adress? Do I need to give it? I don`t think I even know it.
    Select 'Automatic Address Setup (DHCP)'

    This guide might be helpful to you
    http://www.mpipks-dresden.mpg.de/~mu...cnet.yast.html

  29. #29

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    Ok... Now I selected automatic address setup (DHCP) still not connected. I still need to configure the network card? I don`t know if my network card is PCMCIA or USB device (otherwise select your network card card model from select from list?)

  30. #30

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    So I`m not sure if I need to configure the modem too? It was quite difficult when I tried I was asked network providers etc.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,049

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 network config

    On 2014-02-13 09:36, matrix wrote:
    >
    > So I`m not sure if I need to configure the modem too? It was quite
    > difficult when I tried I was asked network providers etc.


    Not unless you really have a modem...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •