Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: yast2 error

  1. #1

    Exclamation yast2 error

    Hello:

    I've installed the lastest 12.3 KDE4 in my computer, and I try to open YAST2 from the menu, but it always said:



    Su returned with an error.



    does anybody know how to solve it?

    THX

    Albert

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,291
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Quote Originally Posted by albumns View Post
    does anybody know how to solve it?
    Open a terminal (konsole or xterm).

    Then run:
    Code:
    su -
    and give the root password when requested.

    If that works, then try running
    Code:
    # yast2
    from that root command line.

    If the "su" does not work, then post back the details of any error message.
    opensuse 13.1; KDE 4.11.5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    14,742

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Tant may be a way to run YaST when the "normal" way (using the menu( does not work. Nut I assume that the OP wants thus to work from the menu. How do we tackle that? That is very abnormal for a fresh installed system.

    To the OP:
    You say you start YaST from the menu. What happens exactly? Does a window asking for the root password pop-up? And do you then type that password? And when do you get that error and in which window (or other place)?
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West by God Virginia
    Posts
    6,233

    Default Re: yast2 error

    I suggest that the OP check his install media to be sure it is burned correctly. There is a media check on the first menu.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,298

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Is the user running machine as root ?
    GNOME 3.10.1
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  6. #6

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Open a terminal (konsole or xterm).

    Then run:
    Code:
    su -
    and give the root password when requested.

    If that works, then try running
    Code:
    # yast2
    from that root command line.

    If the "su" does not work, then post back the details of any error message.

    there is an error for command "su -"

    su: error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    then I made linke by command:

    sudo ln -s libcrypto.so libcrypto.so.0.9.8

    Now the YAST2 can popup when I click the menu. It is very strange, I input the correct password for root, but it always claimed:

    Code:
    Permission denied.
    Possibly incorrect password, please try again.
    On some systems, you need to be in a special group (often: wheel) to use this program.
    I add myself in the wheel group, but the problem is still there....


    thx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West by God Virginia
    Posts
    6,233

    Default Re: yast2 error

    You have a broken install. reinstall and check media first

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    14,742

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    You have a broken install. reinstall and check media first
    Looks very much like it.

    And please do not do such strange things as "adding yourself to the wheel group", without asking here for the benefits and consequences of such a move.


    And please do not tell things like
    there is an error for command "su -"

    su: error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    You should allways post your computer actions as they are on your terminal, including prompt, command, output and next prompt, by copy/paste between CODE tags. You get the COPDE tags by clicking on the # button in the toolbar of the post editor.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    You have a broken install. reinstall and check media first


    I don't think so, I already check it in the installation step.

    Actually the YAST2 works fine after installations, the problem happens when I update the system. However, it works fine when I login in the system with root.

  10. #10

    Default Re: yast2 error

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Looks very much like it.

    And please do not do such strange things as "adding yourself to the wheel group", without asking here for the benefits and consequences of such a move.


    And please do not tell things like

    You should allways post your computer actions as they are on your terminal, including prompt, command, output and next prompt, by copy/paste between CODE tags. You get the COPDE tags by clicking on the # button in the toolbar of the post editor.


    Hello, thanks for reply.

    I thought it was clearly stated, but it seems not. Now here is the thing:

    I try to open YAST2 from GUI suse menu, when it pop up a dialoug for root password, I input a correct one, but it always claimed

    Code:
     Permission denied.
    Possibly incorrect password, please try again.
    On some systems, you need to be in a special group (often: wheel) to use this program.
    Acutually I was already in wheel group

    I also try to run the following in terminal:

    Code:
    su -
    su: Not setuid and you are not root, expect this to fail
    root's password: 
    Sorry!
    THX

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •