Thread: What is best way to extend wifi to 3rd floor of house if have ethernet cable there?

Default What is best way to extend wifi to 3rd floor of house if have ethernet cable there?

I have internet that is connected on the first floor by a cable modem and on that floor we use a wifi router. The wifi does not reach the third floor but in the past, we ran a logn ethernet cable up there through the floor. Now we want to have wifi access on the third floor by connecting a router (or something else) to that ethernet cable instead of directly to the internet. Can I do this with any router and just plugging that ethernet cable into the spot where the modem would usually plug in? Or would I need a specific type of router or something else?

Default Re: What is best way to extend wifi to 3rd floor of house if have ethernet cable there?

One option would appear to be a mains ethernet connection to a wi-fi router on the third floor. However, I have no experience of this. Have a look at the manufacturers' offerings.

Blog Entries

Default Re: What is best way to extend wifi to 3rd floor of house if have ethernet cable there?

Not sure I understand the question - but an example of what my wife and I do to obtain wireless in our outdoor patio -

Our apartment has a wired ethernet connection in every room. We have a small cabinet where the main switch is located for all the apartment's wired connections. We also have our wireless router located there in the same cabinet. Hence we have both a wired connection, and a wireless signal, in every room in our apartment.

Unfortunately, the wireless signal from the small cabinet, is not strong enough for a good signal on our patio.