Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

  1. #1

    Default No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    I have the nvidia proprietary drivers installed and trying to use the hdmi audio. My sound speaker setup is confirmed working on my windows partition. For some reason, azalia intel hda shows up despite having onboard sound disabled in the bios. I have the nvidia corporation listed as the 0th device in yast and gone through the audio test in every item in the phonon settings, still nothing. Not sure what else to do/configure despite searching.

  2. #2

    Default Re: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    Quote Originally Posted by own3dbydsquared View Post
    I have the nvidia proprietary drivers installed and trying to use the hdmi audio. My sound speaker setup is confirmed working on my windows partition. For some reason, azalia intel hda shows up despite having onboard sound disabled in the bios. I have the nvidia corporation listed as the 0th device in yast and gone through the audio test in every item in the phonon settings, still nothing. Not sure what else to do/configure despite searching.
    What is the openSuSE version installed?
    Even in kde I don't use phonon maybe it's just me.
    I use the xfce4-mixer, it is very simple to use. You can try installing it and try using it instead of phonon, it is in the openSUSE repositories.
    If pulseaudio is enabled in your system you might need to install pavucontrol.

    If using those I mentioned above you still have problem with your sound, please re-post and maybe a bit detailed by mentioning the
    nvidia card model, the audio device that will use the hdmi, openSUSE version etc that you think is relevant in diagnosing your sound problem.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    25,626
    Blog Entries
    29

    Default Re: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    Further to conram's excellent advice, to provide more information on your PC's audio setup, could you please run an audio diagnostic script (with your PC connected to the internet) where that script will upload the PC's audio configuration to the internet so it can be shared/examined ? Do so by opening a bash shell/terminal and send the command:
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    ie something like this:

    .
    .
    and select the UPLOAD/SHARE option.

    .
    .
    Allow the script to complete, and in the bash shell after script completion should be a URL/web-address that you can share, which will have the location where the configuration output has been located. It will look something like this:


    Please post the web address that you get (not the one in my example) here in this thread.

    That will allow us a better examination of your HDMI audio setup.

  4. #4

    Default Re: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    What is the openSuSE version installed?
    Even in kde I don't use phonon maybe it's just me.
    I use the xfce4-mixer, it is very simple to use. You can try installing it and try using it instead of phonon, it is in the openSUSE repositories.
    If pulseaudio is enabled in your system you might need to install pavucontrol.

    If using those I mentioned above you still have problem with your sound, please re-post and maybe a bit detailed by mentioning the
    nvidia card model, the audio device that will use the hdmi, openSUSE version etc that you think is relevant in diagnosing your sound problem.
    Thanks and fixed! I have pulseaudio installed. In my searching before posting, I found pavucontrol but it didn't load so I gave up on that. Tried it again, now it works. What I had to do was turn off built in audio and keep choosing a high definition audio controller until one worked. My opensuse version is 12.3

  5. #5

    Default Re: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Further to conram's excellent advice, to provide more information on your PC's audio setup, could you please run an audio diagnostic script (with your PC connected to the internet) where that script will upload the PC's audio configuration to the internet so it can be shared/examined ? Do so by opening a bash shell/terminal and send the command:
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    ie something like this:

    .
    .
    and select the UPLOAD/SHARE option.

    .
    .
    Allow the script to complete, and in the bash shell after script completion should be a URL/web-address that you can share, which will have the location where the configuration output has been located. It will look something like this:


    Please post the web address that you get (not the one in my example) here in this thread.

    That will allow us a better examination of your HDMI audio setup.
    Thanks for the help. Fixed but here is the info anyway: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=21...55a23af24bc4b5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    25,626
    Blog Entries
    29

    Default Re: No hdmi sound from nvidia card

    Quote Originally Posted by own3dbydsquared View Post
    Thanks for the help. Fixed but here is the info anyway: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=21...55a23af24bc4b5
    In case you are curious, below are some of the items I would have noted in trying to help with the HDMI question:

    HDMI device sound card identification:
    Code:
    !!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
    !!-----------------------------
    
     0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                          HDA ATI SB at 0xfcff4000 irq 16
     1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                          HDA NVidia at 0xfe9f8000 irq 18
    
    
    !!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
    !!--------------------------------------
    
    00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
    01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

    and two snd_hda_intel alsa module instances loaded (one for motherboard sound and one for nvidia device).
    Code:
    !!Loaded ALSA modules
    !!-------------------
    
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_hda_intel
    Pulse audio loaded / running (so that pavucontrol would work) :
    Code:
    !!Sound Servers on this system
    !!----------------------------
    
    Pulseaudio:
          Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
          Running - Yes

    Identification of both of your PC's hardware audio codecs:
    Code:
    Codec: Realtek ALC662 rev1
    ..........
    Codec: Nvidia GPU 0a HDMI/DP

    Recognition in aplay of your PC's HDMI devices:
    Code:
    !!Aplay/Arecord output
    !!--------------------
    
    APLAY
    
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    From the above one can see that the HDMI device in your PC is either hw:1,3, or hw:1,7, or hw:1,8, or hw:1,9

    and the mixer settings for your HDMI device ( hw:1,x)
    Code:
    !!-------Mixer controls for card 1 [NVidia]
    
    Card hw:1 'NVidia'/'HDA NVidia at 0xfe9f8000 irq 18'
      Mixer name    : 'Nvidia GPU 0a HDMI/DP'
      Components    : 'HDA:10de000a,10de0101,00100100'
      Controls      : 28
      Simple ctrls  : 4
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',1
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',2
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',3
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    where the 0 corresponds to hw:1,3 - the 1 corresponds to hw:1,7 - the 2 corresponds to hw:1,8 - the 3 corresponds to hw:1,9

    and there is more detail on the HDMI not posted by me from the diagnostic script that I have not yet learned to read. I suspect that if I could read the remainder I would know for certain if your HDMI audio is hw:1,3, or hw:1,7, or hw:1,8, or hw:1,9. I do note the hw:1,7 entry is different from the other hw:1,x entries with this entry:
    Code:
        control.13 {
            iface PCM
            device 7
            name ELD
            value '10000e006d80005f00000200000000004dd90227534f4e59204156414d500a2020097f070d7f070f7f071507553d1fc05706006754005f7e010000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000'
            comment {
                access 'read volatile'
                type BYTES
                count 95
            }
    and hence if it would be me with your PC's hardware,that is likely the HDMI device that I would have tested first.

    Out of curiousity, which if the 4 HDMI items : hw:1,3, or hw:1,7, or hw:1,8, or hw:1,9 , is the one on your PC ? Is it hw:1,7 ?
    Last edited by oldcpu; 31-May-2013 at 23:00.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •