Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Compiling wine

Default Compiling wine

okay after a multitude of tries I cannot get wine compholio to work properly under openSUSE even with using alien.
    So its time to compile this and possibly host my compiled versions here, but how do I compile wine under opensuse.
    I want to use the netflix workaround, and the native wine doesdnt cover that.
    The only package that is a rpm is an outdated verison and again under alien it simply wont work.
    so I want to compile wine, such a pain but maybe I can help others who want netflix on linux to work by doing this.
    Instructions are needed please.

Default Re: Compiling wine

We don't know your experience with compiling, or the openSUSE environment, so you may get a range of answers, but this may be of help to start with

https://en.opensuse.org/Wine#Source

I have very little compiling experience, as in next to nil.
    Also is there a metapackage or something for all this?
    That page you linked suggests a **** load of things it wants.

Yes, compiling is not a trivial exercise.

I know a little about netflix (it's not available in NZ), but in an effort to assist you, I installed the 'netflix-desktop' RPM from here:

netflix-desktop-0.2.1-4.noarch RPM

One has to take care with installing packages that are not openSUSE-specific, but in this case all should be ok. (I had a quick look at the files contained). It mentions

Netflix Desktop provides a convient tool that downloads and installs all of the components necessary to run Netflix Watch Instantly under Wine, including the Windows version of Mozilla Firefox and Microsoft Silverlight v4. This package also includes some convience settings to integrate Netflix into Firefox in such a way that everything feels like a native Ubuntu application.