Post-install Sony Vaio VGC-JS1E Screen Problems

Hello,

I am a complete newbie to Linux. I have installed OpenSuse 12.1 on an empty 500Gb disk on a Sony Vaio VGC-JS1E machine. I have two problems that are driving me crazy right now.

1. I previously ran Windows 7 successfully on the machine. After completing the automatic install, the screen contains a small view of the KDE desktop (I have also tried Gnome with the same effect) surrounded by on the right of the screen a multi-coloured two-inch border and on the bottom of the screen a four inch area that is blank. The two border are not accessible and the window is confined to a small area oriniating in the left top corner. I ahve tried using the built-in tools to change the screen resolution with no success. I have also tried reinstalling the software three times with no luck.

2. The wireless network is not enabled post install. I have gone through network manager checking that it is running and that the network services are turned on - they are. I have configured the network and started it successfully. However, on reboot, the network is not available and, the settings I have entered are turned off once again.

I suspect I may not be doing something correctly. I would really appreciate any help that you can offer this poor soul struggling away here trying to fix these two problems.

Many thanks for your time - and, thanks too for helping out in this way. This forum and the others are really useful.

1. I do not know real answer, but I have had this trying various Linux distributions. It is i think graphics related, and needs a line in boot set up to set Video to say specific value and also to remove certain starts up. (e.g. noapic or similar)
  2. Can you post the graphics set up of the laptop: Intel or specific graphics card? Others may help.
    3 Cheat sheet parts for boot loading alteration include (with respect to Knoppix):