Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Java error on Gnome 3

  1. #1

    Default Java error on Gnome 3

    Hi,
    i've opensuse 12.1 , gnome 3, 64-bit, installed on my desktop.
    I've always this annoying error every time i run a java application ( as Jdownloader ).
    If i press the super-key, and gnome shows all my open windows, i've to see this little black window with two white points inside it. ( I can't attach screenshot )
    I know, it's not the end of the world, but it's very annoying for me.
    Have i any chance to solve this trouble ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    11,210

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    On 01/11/2012 12:26 PM, slylts wrote:
    > ( I can't
    > attach screenshot )


    -=WELCOME=- new poster!

    not that this will ensure you a usable answer, but you can put a screen
    shot into http://tinyurl.com/69dzb3w and then post the URL to this thread..

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,273
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by slylts
    Hi,
    i've opensuse 12.1 , gnome 3, 64-bit, installed on my desktop.
    I've always this annoying error every time i run a java application (
    as Jdownloader ).
    If i press the super-key, and gnome shows all my open windows, i've to
    see this little black window with two white points inside it. ( I can't
    attach screenshot )
    I know, it's not the end of the world, but it's very annoying for me.
    Have i any chance to solve this trouble ?

    Hi
    Open the Gnome screenshot application and set a delay of say 10
    seconds, then set up the activities screen showing the error and then
    wait for the time to countdown and it will grab the screenshot.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    up 2 days 0:24, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.04, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  4. #4

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 01/11/2012 12:26 PM, slylts wrote:
    > ( I can't
    > attach screenshot )


    -=WELCOME=- new poster!

    not that this will ensure you a usable answer, but you can put a screen
    shot into SUSE Paste and then post the URL to this thread..

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!
    Thank's. This is the screenshot : SUSE Paste

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,273
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by slylts
    Thank's. This is the screenshot : 'SUSE Paste'
    (http://paste.opensuse.org/83661687)

    Hi
    So if you hover the mouse around the area to the top right of the ..
    text box, do you get a close button? If so, click it and what closes?

    Something is creating a minimized application window so small it's not
    allowing any text to show.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    up 2 days 1:12, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  6. #6

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    So if you hover the mouse around the area to the top right of the ..
    text box, do you get a close button? If so, click it and what closes?

    Something is creating a minimized application window so small it's not
    allowing any text to show.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    up 2 days 1:12, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU
    Hi,
    yes, i get the close button but if i click it doesn't happen anything.
    This something has to be related with java, every time i open a java app it appears.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    11,210

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    On 01/11/2012 03:26 PM, slylts wrote:
    > every time i open a java app it appears.


    how do you open these java apps?

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,273
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by slylts
    malcolmlewis;2429141 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > So if you hover the mouse around the area to the top right of the ..
    > text box, do you get a close button? If so, click it and what closes?
    >
    > Something is creating a minimized application window so small it's not
    > allowing any text to show.
    >
    > --
    > Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    > openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    > up 2 days 1:12, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.05
    > CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


    Hi,
    yes, i get the close button but if i click it doesn't happen anything.
    This something has to be related with java, every time i open a java
    app it appears.

    Hi
    OK, you can inspect it to see what it is via looking glass.

    Go into the overview mode, where you see the offending window. Press
    alt+r enter lg and press enter, then under the window tab it should
    show you what is running.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    up 2 days 1:46, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  9. #9

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Under window i read this :

    JavaEmbemmedFrame
    wmclass : com-install4j-runtime-launcher-Launcher
    <untracked>

    For example, for Jdownloader, i install it with the sh which i download form its website, the sh creates a link to the application. I click the link and in this way i launch the app.
    The link has this command :
    Code:
    /bin/sh "/home/neo/jdownloader/JDLauncher"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,273
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Java error on Gnome 3

    Quote Originally Posted by slylts
    Under window i read this :

    _JavaEmbemmedFrame_
    wmclass : com-install4j-runtime-launcher-Launcher
    <untracked>

    For example, for Jdownloader, i install it with the sh which i download
    form its website, the sh creates a link to the application. I click the
    link and in this way i launch the app.
    The link has this command :
    Code:
    --------------------
    /bin/sh "/home/neo/jdownloader/JDLauncher"
    --------------------

    Hi
    OK, can you install libwnck-tools and then run;
    [CODE]
    wnckprop --list
    wnckprop --xid XXX
    [CODE]
    Where XXX is the number from the list for your application.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.0-1.2-desktop
    up 1:15, 4 users, load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.08
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •