Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Err Message: No Boot Device Found

Default Err Message: No Boot Device Found

Hi,

I tried to install openSUSE 12.1 on my "2010 MacBook Pro".

But after the installation, I cannot boot into the system.

An error message showing that:

No Bootable Device

So what should I do now? I'm a newbie to UNIX & LINUX. So any suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks.

Ed

Blog Entries

Smile Re: Err Message: No Boot Device Found

Quote Originally Posted by EDLIU11 View Post
    Hi,

I tried to install openSUSE 12.1 on my "2010 MacBook Pro".

But after the installation, I cannot boot into the system.

An error message showing that:

No Bootable Device

So what should I do now? I'm a newbie to UNIX & LINUX. So any suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks.

Ed
    I don't know how many Mac users are out there using openSUSE, but I am afraid I am not going to be much help. The error means that the MBR (Master Boot Record) did not get a copy of generic boot code or Grub was not loaded into it and your BIOS (or what ever on a Mac) is complaining that no bootable device was found. Normally I suggest a reinstall and to allow Grub to be loaded into the MBR, but really, on a Mac that is a pure guess for me. I did find a nice write up that might be useful for you here:

OpenSUSE 12.1 on a 2011 MacBook Air | Community Matters

Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

Its James again from Austin, Texas

Default Re: Err Message: No Boot Device Found

Hi,

So is there anything I can do to let my MBP or iMac run openSUSE 12.1?

Thanks.

Ed

Blog Entries

Hi,

So is there anything I can do to let my MBP or iMac run openSUSE 12.1?

Thanks.

Ed