Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,238

    Default hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    I have an HP B110a wireless all in one printer.
    It works well with opensuse 11.4 using the hplip driver 3.11.5-1.5.1
    However, I have noticed when I insert images into libreoffice they do not print.
    Changing to hpijs the images print ok.

    Seeing that my printer is a pretty new model I would have expected it to work flawlessly with hplip because hpijs as I understand it is for older models and is missing a lot of features.

    Anybody have any idea what the issue with hplip might be?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    Lets focus on LibreOffice first. Just to clarify - have you checked File > Printer Settings > Options? Make sure 'Pictures and objects' is enabled. Also, check File > Print > LibreOffice Writer > Pictures and other graphic objects (Is that enabled)? Under the 'Options' folder, you can 'Print to file'. Does the PDF include the graphics images ok?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,238

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Lets focus on LibreOffice first. Just to clarify - have you checked File > Printer Settings > Options? Make sure 'Pictures and objects' is enabled. Also, check File > Print > LibreOffice Writer > Pictures and other graphic objects (Is that enabled)? Under the 'Options' folder, you can 'Print to file'. Does the PDF include the graphics images ok?
    Hi - sorry - I should have mentioned that I have been over all these options with a fine tooth comb.
    I should also have mentioned that if I export the document to a pdf file the images are present but when printing from okular the images still fail to print.
    Changing driver to hpijs the images print right off.

    Printing from firefox with hplip images print without problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    I should also have mentioned that if I export the document to a pdf file the images are present but when printing from okular the images still fail to print.
    Changing driver to hpijs the images print right off.
    How curious. Does this also depend on what format (eg png,jpg,...) the images are, or does it make no difference?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    While waiting for other replies, maybe consider checking for any existing bug reports:

    http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/support.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,238

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    hmmmm . . . . there's an interesting one.
    I removed all traces of hplip - reinstalled and now can't reproduce the problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,050

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    On 2011-10-31 12:16, farcusnz wrote:
    >
    > hmmmm . . . . there's an interesting one.
    > I removed all traces of hplip - reinstalled and now can't reproduce the
    > problem.


    I was going to say that if hplip means sending postscript to the printer,
    some printers can not cope with images (not enough memory), or big images.
    Anything can happen then: skipped page, half page, page with no images...
    In that case, using hpijs works.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    Interesting. I haven't encountered this issue with any modern printer recently. CUPS has a spooler for this purpose. I note the specs of your printer
    HP Photosmart Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - B110a (CN245A) specifications - HP Home & Home Office products
    Code:
    Memory, standard	64 MB
    Memory, maximum	64 MB
    Print languages	HP PCL 3 GUI
    I wonder if this is symptomatic of a non-postscript printer (with insufficient memory), in which some of the PCL processing must be done within the printer itself. I would hazard a guess that the issue is more of a driver issue than due to the printer itself though, and should still be reported. Postscript is more verbose, but the image processing is done by the CUPS postscript driver. For example, my own Brother DCP-7055 (postscript driver) has only 16MB of memory, yet prints flawlessly in these circumstances.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 31-Oct-2011 at 12:30.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    23,050

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    On 2011-10-31 20:26, deano ferrari wrote:
    > Postscript is more verbose, but the
    > processing is done by the CUPS postscript driver.


    No, no. Cups sends postscript directly to the printer, untouched. I know,
    because I have tried to send to the printer "raw" data, ie, a .ps file, and
    it prints fine. It is the printer which converts the ps to bitmap for
    printing. It has to store the whole page bitmap, or do it by regions.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,855

    Default Re: hplip images wont print from libreoffice

    I have tried to send to the printer "raw" data, ie, a .ps file, and
    it prints fine.
    I've done the same with raw print.
    No, no. Cups sends postscript directly to the printer, untouched.
    Not quite, and you missed my point. (Usually a postscript filter is still utilised to to add printer-specific commands to the PostScript output, although CUPS includes a generic PostScript filter that handles all PPD-defined commands). My point was that I would not expect a printer to fail because of lack of memory. The CUPS spooler is designed to alleviate that. I have tied up company printers many times with large print jobs, but they have not failed to print because of a lack of memory - usually just slow processing results. Hence, my suggestion to the OP to file a bug report.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •