Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: KPackageKit

  1. #1

    Default KPackageKit

    This is not a help thread or anything so i won't post this in other sections but...

    What's up with KPackageKit? What's it for? Updates?
    What happened to YaST? I used to run YaST every now and again and it would show what needs to update and would do so when i finished what i need in it...

    Cause this KPackageKit either kinda buggy or i'm missing something.



    Look at the bottom right corner...

    About 2 minutes after that screenshot was taken, 4 more (same!) processes showed up, all waiting on each other, and none of them won't start...
    Not just that, but refreshing proces takes ages, like, about 15 minutes (no, really, why is it taking so long?), so when 6 refreshs are in the queue, this takes time.
    Then, 2 hours later, all of them finished and 2 minutes after that update shows up again with 4 processes...
    What's the point of the application launching this 4 times when it just starts? Can't 1 be enough? Refresh package list, then update? And start like, once a day, not every 2 minutes...

    What's more, every other application needs to wait for this to finish... I couldn't even open YaST cause the refresh and getting updates proces can't be canceled.

    I disabled that, searched this forum for it, and i'm happier now. If it somehow shows up again i'll remove it completely...

    Just want to know, can i still manually start YaST and let it do whatever it needs with dependencies and updates?
    Cause KPackageKit and Kupdate or whatever this is just sucks. Or do i need to configure it in some special way for it to work properly?

    Furthermore, YaST is also terribly slow. Not sure why, when i installed the OS, YaST worked fine, and now it halts on every URL it's checking and my internet is working fine. Then sometimes it goes ok, and sometimes it gives me the message that it can't communicate with URL's (like http://download.suse/update/11.4/, and others).

    So, I either have nothing to update, or YaST isn't updating anymore, so i can't really know if YaST does what it used to do in 11.2, cause that's how i was getting all the updates when i had 11.2... Open YaST, it would check everything, then list all of the changes it will make, then i can just let it work right away or install a program or whatever...
    I'm guessing it's the same, just can't test it now so i'm asking...

    Also, running KDE, if that makes any difference...

    I may be a bit frustrated about the update thing... I hope it doesn't show much...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    On 2011-10-07 01:36, Vepar wrote:

    > What's up with KPackageKit? What's it for? Updates?


    Yep. I suppose.

    > What happened to YaST? I used to run YaST every now and again and it
    > would show what needs to update and would do so when i finished what i
    > need in it...


    Nothing happened to YaST. It is there as always, even better.

    > Cause this KPackageKit either kinda buggy or i'm missing something.


    Very buggy. We⁽¹⁾ know.

    (1) "we" means us, users like you. Not necessarily devs. >:-P


    The general recommendation here is not to use packagekit. Some even
    uninstall it. Others simply use it to know there are updates, and then use
    YOU/YaST/zypper to install them.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    5,282
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    Yes, it is for updates, and presumably for other software installation.

    Yes, it is buggy.

    I think it is part of a plan by the KDE team to try to provide a way of handling updates and software that is common to all distros, with the particular distro team interfacing it with their own software.

    My current practice:

    (1) I have disabled the startup of kpackagekit. I did this in the services settings ("Startup and Shutdown" in personal settings).
    (2) For most software management, I go directly to Yast.
    (3) I occasionally start kpackagekit manually (from the menus) to check for updates.

    It has not given me any problems using it this way. It was causing problems when I allowed it to be automatically started as a KDE service.
    opensuse factory; KDE 4.14.1 (main desktop);
    opensuse 13.1, KDE 4.11.5 (laptop);

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,097
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    Don't use it
    Disable or uninstall it
    Do this instead
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Sof...tem_update.png
    Once a week will do
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pitesti, Arges County, Romania
    Posts
    615

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    Quote Originally Posted by Vepar View Post
    ...
    (K)PackageKit is a pain in the ass; the system moves slow when he is looking and installing updates. As Caf said uninstall the program and either take the steps explained by him in the screen shoot or open konsole or terminal and run sudo zypper refresh and sudo zypper up to get updates. At sudo you must provide the root password
    openSUSE Community Member: -> en.opensuse.org/User:Creatura85
    Connect Profile:
    -> connect.opensuse.org/pg/profile/creatura85
    openSUSE Romania Member: -> suseromania.ro

  6. #6

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    Thx for the replys everyone!

    Yeah, kpackagekit is allready disabled, didn't remove it, but will if it acts up again lol...

    Ok, i'll use YaST from now on to update, glad it still works the way it used to!

    [QUOTE)caf4926]Do this instead
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Sof...tem_update.png
    Once a week will do[/QUOTE]

    Is this the same as typing "sudo zypper refresh" and "sudo "zypper up" in terminal as creatura85 suggested?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,097
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    Is this the same as typing "sudo zypper refresh" and "sudo "zypper up" in terminal as creatura85 suggested?
    Yes it is.
    zypper up
    holds to switches you have made on repos

    On the other hand
    zypper patch
    does not
    It behaves as does kpackagekit
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    On 2011-10-07 11:46, caf4926 wrote:

    > On the other hand
    > zypper patch
    > does not
    > It behaves as does kpackagekit


    NO! It behaves as YaST Online Update, aka YOU.

    packagekit misbehaves.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,097
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    The point I was making is that 'patch' and (yes: YOU) will break repo switching
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Re: KPackageKit

    On 2011-10-07 14:56, caf4926 wrote:
    >
    > The point I was making is that 'patch' and (yes: YOU) will break repo
    > switching


    No, it doesn't break anything.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •