Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Code tags lost.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Code tags lost.

    In the post #5 of

    Code:
    
    > http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/applications/465449-google-talk-media-source-http-download-opensuse-org-distribution-11-4-repo-oss.html#post2385842
    it appears that the poster is using code tags, but on the NNTP side the
    code appears like quoted text and wrapped, making it useless (see below).

    Why is this happening?



    On 2011-09-20 15:06, darren787 wrote:
    >
    > Oh you did tell me to ask my friend and I was almost there.
    >
    >>
    >> # | Alias | Name
    >> | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI
    >>
    >> | Service
    >> ---+------------------------------+-----------------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    >> 1 | Packman Repository | Packman Repository
    >> | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | 'Index of
    >> /suse/openSUSE_11.4/' (http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_11.4/)



    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    14,379

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On Tue, 20 Sep 2011 14:53:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > In the post #5 of
    >
    >
    Code:
    >
    >> http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/
    Code:
    applications/465449-google-talk-media-source-http-download-opensuse-org-
    distribution-11-4-repo-oss.html#post2385842
    >
    > 

    >
    > it appears that the poster is using code tags, but on the NNTP side the
    > code appears like quoted text and wrapped, making it useless (see
    > below).
    >
    > Why is this happening?


    It looks like it's coming through as a quote - at a guess, the first "#"
    is being identified as a quote character and so it's stripping the code
    tags. Looks like a bug in the gateway.

    I'll do a little testing later today and see if that's the issue.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    14,379

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On Tue, 20 Sep 2011 17:14:50 +0000, Jim Henderson wrote:

    > It looks like it's coming through as a quote - at a guess, the first "#"
    > is being identified as a quote character and so it's stripping the code
    > tags. Looks like a bug in the gateway.
    >
    > I'll do a little testing later today and see if that's the issue.


    Hmmm, looks like just a glitch - I did some testing and wasn't able to
    reproduce it.

    If the OP in that thread will come over here and provide some information
    about how they created that message, we might be able to reproduce it and
    get it fixed.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On 2011-09-20 19:30, Jim Henderson wrote:
    > If the OP in that thread will come over here and provide some information
    > about how they created that message, we might be able to reproduce it and
    > get it fixed.


    I just asked.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    Hello,
    I followed the instruction from the video Posting in Code Tags - A Guide from within my browser. I clicked the "Go advanced" button below and placed the code within the "" that came up by pressing the "#" button from within the advanced editor as I have done here. Hope it also has not caused an issue. if you are not able to read this because of that please let me know so I can resubmit it without pressing the "Go Advanced" Button.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    The above post looked ok to me as did my previous one but in case you cannot see it I am posting the same text as above without pressing the "Go advanced" button shown on the option below.

    Hello,
    I followed the instruction from the video Posting in Code Tags - A Guide from within my browser. I clicked the "Go advanced" button below and placed the code within the "" that came up by pressing the "#" button from within the advanced editor as I have done here. Hope it also has not caused an issue. if you are not able to read this because of that please let me know so I can resubmit it without pressing the "Go Advanced" Button.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    22,736

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On 2011-09-21 00:36, darren787 wrote:
    >
    > Hello,
    > I followed the instruction from the video 'Posting in Code Tags - A
    > Guide' (http://tinyurl.com/27sswak) from within my browser. I clicked
    > the "Go advanced" button below and placed the code within the "
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    >
    > --------------------
    > " that came up by pressing the "#" button from within the advanced
    > editor as I have done here. Hope it also has not caused an issue. if
    > you are not able to read this because of that please let me know so I
    > can resubmit it without pressing the "Go Advanced" Button.


    No, here it is ok. I have no idea why that post was broken when it passed
    the NNTP gateway. It may have been a glitch.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    14,379

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On Tue, 20 Sep 2011 22:48:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 2011-09-21 00:36, darren787 wrote:
    >>
    >> Hello,
    >> I followed the instruction from the video 'Posting in Code Tags - A
    >> Guide' (http://tinyurl.com/27sswak) from within my browser. I clicked
    >> the "Go advanced" button below and placed the code within the " Code:
    >> --------------------
    >>
    >> --------------------
    >> " that came up by pressing the "#" button from within the advanced
    >> editor as I have done here. Hope it also has not caused an issue. if
    >> you are not able to read this because of that please let me know so I
    >> can resubmit it without pressing the "Go Advanced" Button.

    >
    > No, here it is ok. I have no idea why that post was broken when it
    > passed the NNTP gateway. It may have been a glitch.


    That's what I'm thinking.

    Darren, can you post exactly what you did - down to generating the output
    you put in the code tags, which terminal software you used, and how you
    copied/pasted the content?

    Thanks,

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    I used Konsole terminal with the following code:
    1) su -
    2) zypper lr --details
    3) Selected the text by dragging the mouse and left clicking copy.
    4) Went to forum and clicked "Reply to post"
    5) Then in the post I clicked "Go Advanced" button
    6) Then I clicked the "#" for the code tabs
    7) Then I left clicked to past contents in the tabs

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    14,379

    Default Re: Code tags lost.

    On Wed, 21 Sep 2011 04:06:03 +0000, darren787 wrote:

    > I used Konsole terminal with the following code: 1) su -
    > 2) zypper lr --details
    > 3) Selected the text by dragging the mouse and left clicking copy. 4)
    > Went to forum and clicked "Reply to post" 5) Then in the post I clicked
    > "Go Advanced" button 6) Then I clicked the "#" for the code tabs 7) Then
    > I left clicked to past contents in the tabs
    >
    > Thanks


    Thanks, I'll try and duplicate this tomorrow when I have a free minute
    and see if we can get to the bottom of why it acted weird for you. Which
    browser are you using?

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •