Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    I get this error.

    org.freedesktop.UDisks.Error.Failed: Requested filesystem type is neither well-known nor in /proc/filesystems nor in /etc/filesystems

    I have no idea what that means. But I'm on the verge of uninstalling I really need access to my NTFS drive.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    The experts who will help you will likely need to know which operating system you are using and which version, plus which Desktop Environment. So can you supply some background info for them please.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    Can you type the following command in a terminal and post output here:
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    so that we can see wich partition of which disk you need to mount.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    The experts who will help you will likely need to know which operating system you are using and which version, plus which Desktop Environment. So can you supply some background info for them please.
    Sorry, I'm using openSUSE 11.4 with the default KDE. Hard drive is an EXT USB HDD Toshiba.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    Quote Originally Posted by please_try_again View Post
    Can you type the following command in a terminal and post output here:
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    so that we can see wich partition of which disk you need to mount.

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00077e07
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1            2048     4208639     2103296   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda2   *     4208640    46153727    20972544   83  Linux
    /dev/sda3        46153728   312580095   133213184   83  Linux
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xb49b6b25
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1              63  1953520064   976760001    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    14,745

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    And when do you get this error?

    Did you try to mount as root with something like:
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc1 /your/mount/directory
    Or do you have an entry for it in/etc/fstab (show us that file).

    Or did you different.

    You see there are all sorts of possibilities. It is like not telling which level, etc. You must give us as much information as possible. We were not there when you did what you tried. We can not know (not many clairvoyants here ).
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    I just boot into KDE and turn on my USB HDD and get a notification that it's discovered. Only when I click on that notification it throws up the error. That's it nothing more to tell.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    If the command suggested by hcvv doesn't work try:

    Code:
    mount /dev/sdc1 /mnt
    If it still doesn't work, try:
    Code:
    mount -t nfs-3g /dev/sdc1 /mnt
    If it doesn't work, make sure that ntfs support is installed:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep ntfs
    Check that the partition is mounted with:
    Code:
    mount
    Once it is mounted, you can access it in the directory /mnt

    If it you're able to mount it, we can add an entry in /etc/fstab ... although there is a way to mount external disks automatically with udev rules and/or hal policies that I don't remember.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    That first command worked brilliantly. Now only to get it working without resorting to command line. Just to plug and play. Oh and I really appreciate the help!
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    14,745

    Default Re: Can't mount my EXT NTFS HDD.

    Quote Originally Posted by chrispche View Post
    I just boot into KDE and turn on my USB HDD and get a notification that it's discovered. Only when I click on that notification it throws up the error. That's it nothing more to tell.
    Which is much, much more then you told before. We did not even know it was about an USB device.

    As I have read here more then once there is a change that the device will not mount when it was used before on an MS Windows system and not properly removed there. Could that be your case? When yes, put it in such a system and do a proper remove. Then retry on opensUSE.

    EDIT: your post #10 was posted while I wrote this. When you can mount it as you say, the above is certainly ot true in this case. Forget it.
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •