Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Advanced Search not working

  1. #1

    Default Advanced Search not working

    It looks like Advance Search doesn't work at all at the moment. (?)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,173

    Default Re: Advanced Search not working

    Yes, I've noticed this too. John has contacted Kim about it. We're waiting to here back on this...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,500
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Advanced Search not working

    Yes, it does seem to be working oddly for sure. I get results, but only a very few. Not sure just what might be going on. A search on messages with no replies only brings up results of nine from this day only, no matter what I said I wanted to see.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,500
    Blog Entries
    48

    Unhappy Re: Advanced Search not working

    I would like to post other issues I see with the search. One is the inability to save ones default search. Another, is what this section looks like to Firefox and what it looks like to Internet Explorer 9:

    Firefox 4 Search:



    Internet Explorer 9 Search:



    Notice that in IE9, you can actually see the save option while in FF4, you can not. Since most Linux users are not using IE9, why the discrepancy between Web Browsers and the apparent favor of IE9 over FF4? This issue has been true for a very long time in this forum. This default situation does not seem right to me in a Linux forum.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,018
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Advanced Search not working

    Hi
    Not seeing the issue here on Firefox 4.0 Gnome 3.0, I see the save button (Go)
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,500
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Advanced Search not working

    Since I always use KDE, one would have to assume this is a Firefox/KDE issue then, but the same problem existed with KDE/FF 3 and openSUSE 11.3. Lets see if anyone else sees the issue then. I have loaded numerous different computers and see the same issue with all of them and KDE. Being a creature of habit, it would have to be something I do every time on every different PC (like using KDE) to create such an issue.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,018
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Advanced Search not working

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    Since I always use KDE, one would have to assume this is a Firefox/KDE issue then, but the same problem existed with KDE/FF 3 and openSUSE 11.3. Lets see if anyone else sees the issue then. I have loaded numerous different computers and see the same issue with all of them and KDE. Being a creature of habit, it would have to be something I do every time on every different PC (like using KDE) to create such an issue.

    Thank You,
    Hi
    Is there and option to tweak the GTK settings in KDE? I'm guessing it's that.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    11,210

    Default Re: Advanced Search not working

    On 04/21/2011 02:06 AM, please try again wrote:
    >
    > It looks like Advance Search doesn't work at all at the moment. (?)


    since search has been extremely slow (unless logged in) for a couple of
    years (or so) i've gotten in the habit of using google and their site
    specific switch, like

    site:forums.opensuse.org "advanced search not working"
    http://tinyurl.com/3teptcq brings up this thread in a heartbeat..

    unfortunately i've not figured out how to _easily_ search with time
    constraints....to do so i have to click on the results page's "Advanced
    Search" and then on "Date, usage rights, numeric range, and more" and
    then spin the "Date: (how recent the page is)" from 'anytime' to "past
    24 hours", "past week" etc

    there are other deficiencies compared to the forums advanced search,
    like sometimes i know i answered the same question (different asker) a
    day or so ago and it is not possible to search for my posts by my user
    name, because Google respects the signature block symbol
    (--[blank])...so, all i can find are those who reply using the forum web
    software which doesn't respect the sig block and quotes it in the reply..

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8 via NNTP]
    A Penguin Being Tickled - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GILA0rrR6w

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    3,122

    Default Re: Advanced Search not working

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    Since I always use KDE, one would have to assume this is a Firefox/KDE issue then, but the same problem existed with KDE/FF 3 and openSUSE 11.3. Lets see if anyone else sees the issue then. I have loaded numerous different computers and see the same issue with all of them and KDE. Being a creature of habit, it would have to be something I do every time on every different PC (like using KDE) to create such an issue.

    Thank You,
    Am seeing the button (although the theme makes it faint and easy to verlook)

    openSUSE 11.3
    KDE 4.4
    FF 3.6.16

    Tony

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •