Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Problems updating or dowloading certain softfware openSUSE 11.4

Default Problems updating or dowloading certain softfware openSUSE 11.4

This is my first post so apologies if it's in the wrong section

I'm not a Linux expert but have been using Suse since version 9.0. I installed opensuse 11.4 about two weeks ago and this time I reformatted my hard drive and did a fresh install. The installation appeared to go through OK without any problems. I ran the updates during the installation process which again was successful. The problems I have experienced have been trying to install either acroread, vlc or the restricted formats either through one click install or manually. Software manager always hangs on downloading either, acroread, vlc-Nox, or in thr case of one click install Ladspa. It's always the same files and the same place. I'm now getting the same problems with updates, either using yast online update, KPackageKit or booting into failsafe and trying to update or download from there.

I've reinstalled the system several times and still had the same problems every time, the same files hanging in the same place. I even tried installing from a different DVD(from a magazine rather than my downloaded one) but got the same problem.

The error I get is like this for the update

Cannot access installation media http://downloadopen suse .org/update/11.4/updates for openSUSE 11.4 11.4-0 (Medium1)
    Check whether the server is accessible

Timeout exceeded when accessing 'http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.4/rpm/i586/sane-backends-1.0.22-1.3.3_1.5.1.i586.delta.rpm'.

I get the same when trying to install acroread, vlc, or the restricted formats but it obviously points to the appropriate repo. I've even tried changing mirrors but still get the same problem with exactly the same files at the same point. Other programs can be downloaded through the software manager without any problem such as audacity, chkrootkit, aide.