Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    The graphics card on a openSUSE11.4-32-bit system is a ATI RV530LE [Radeon X1650 PRO]

    It looks as though xorg sets it up with the RV535 or RV560 chipset if the radeonhd driver is selected

    Is there a way to ensure the RV530 chipset version is loaded when booting

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,648

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Have a look at what is reported by

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    (Just the lines pertaining to your graphics card)

    Is there a way to ensure the RV530 chipset version is loaded when booting
    No. The chipset will be as reported by the kernel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    With the radeon driver its,
    Code:
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV530LE [Radeon X1600/X1650 PRO] [1002:71c6]
            Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device [174b:0840]
            Kernel driver in use: radeon
    02:00.1 Display controller [0380]: ATI Technologies Inc RV530LE [Radeon X1650 PRO] (Secondary) [1002:71e6]
            Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device [174b:0841]
    System settings, display and monitor shows
    DVI-0 (connected)
    VGA-0 (connected)
    S_VIDEO


    With the radeonhd driver its,
    Code:
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV530LE [Radeon X1600/X1650 PRO] [1002:71c6]
            Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device [174b:0840]
    02:00.1 Display controller [0380]: ATI Technologies Inc RV530LE [Radeon X1650 PRO] (Secondary) [1002:71e6]
            Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device [174b:0841]
    System settings, display and monitor shows
    VGA_1 (connected)
    TV_SVIDEO
    DVI-I_1/digital
    DVI-I_1/analog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,648

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Code:
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV530LE [Radeon X1600/X1650 PRO] [1002:71c6]
            Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device [174b:0840]
    Looks ok. Is there a particular problem with the driver? Anything unusual in /var/log/Xorg.0.log?

    Info on the radeonhd driver (you're probably already aware of):

    X.Org Wiki - radeonhd

    If you're searching for bug reports concerning the radeonhd driver

    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/query.c...river/radeonhd

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Thanks for the info.

    With the radeonhd driver, (KMS not loaded and nomodeset)
    - only one monitor (vga) is detected
    - no 3D acceleration possible

    /var/log/Xorg.0.log warnings,
    Code:
    [   219.148] (WW) RADEONHD(0): rhdAtomAllocateFbScratch: FW FB scratch area not located at the end of VRAM. Scratch End: 0x1005000 VRAM End: 0x10000000
    [   219.152] (WW) RADEONHD(0): Not supporting SetVoltage V1 yet
    [   219.172] (WW) RADEONHD(0): PowerPlayInfo Revision not yet implemented
    [   219.320] (WW) RADEONHD(0): Not supporting SetVoltage V1 yet
    [   219.355] (WW) RADEONHD(0): Not supporting SetVoltage V1 yet
    [   219.446] (WW) RADEONHD(0): Not supporting SetVoltage V1 yet
    radeon driver detects, (KMS is loaded and NO nomodeset)
    - both monitors detected
    - and 3D acceleration

    /var/log/Xorg.0.log no warnings,

    It looks as though for my hardware the radeon driver is the better option.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,648

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    It looks as though for my hardware the radeon driver is the better option.
    I agree. The radeon driver is being continually improved, and will generally give the best results. The radeonhd driver (supports only a limited number of chipsets) and is now deprecated AFAIU.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Yesterday updated xorg.

    Then could only boot into terminal mode

    Back to normal with NO_KMS_IN_INITRD set to 'yes' and boot cmd option modeset=1

    If nomodeset used only boots to the terminal

    Progress?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,648

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    So, you needed to disable KMS in order for the updated Xorg to start properly and get the desktop up... What driver is in use? (I'm guessing fbdev if KMS disabled).

    (FWIW, I think I would have stayed with the radeon driver and default 11.4 Xorg server version).
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 06-Apr-2011 at 02:46.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Hi deano_ferrari,

    Yes. With no change only terminal mode was possible as normal user. The radeon driver is still being used.
    I first tried KMS not loaded and nomodeset, as this is the setup on the nearest 64bit machine, but still went into terminal mode.
    (I did not try second reboot - perhaps I should have)
    Second try was with KMS not loaded and modeset=0 in boot cmd line. This worked and also for the following dozen of so warm and cold re/boots
    so I'm staying with this setup until it breaks again.


    Previously I said
    Code:
    radeon driver detects, (KMS is loaded and NO nomodeset)
    - both monitors detected
    - and 3D acceleration
    
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log no warnings
    which after the update changes to
    Code:
    radeon driver detects, (KMS not loaded and modeset=0 in boot cmd line)
    - both monitors detected
    - and 3D acceleration
    
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log no warnings
    regards,
    michael

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    10,648

    Default Re: Radeon X1650 PRO setup

    Good work. This may be helpful to others searching for support on this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •