Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,129

    Arrow Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Since browsers almost allways put their tabs above the actual webpage browser section, moving the cursor up to a tab pops up the menus (under What's New?, Forum or openSUSE).

    Make the initial drop-down menu when the header is Clicked, and thereafter allow menus to open when hovered over.

    This way people moving from one tab to another, or closing a tab doesn't trigger the menu to pop up, while those that want the menus are only a single click away.
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,328

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    I would prefer that approach, which is how the mozilla browsers' menu bars normally operate anyway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Utah, USA, Earth, Milky Way
    Posts
    5,737
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    We're using a vBulletin plugin for the tabbed menus so, unfortunately,
    we're stuck with how the plugin works.

    --
    Kim - 11/19/2010 11:53:02 AM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,022
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Just a note
    And @dragonbite may be able confirm also

    But those menu's are a little corrupted in their rendering in Ubuntu/Mint/Debian
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,129

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Just a note
    And @dragonbite may be able confirm also

    But those menu's are a little corrupted in their rendering in Ubuntu/Mint/Debian
    What do you mean by "corrupt"? I'll check them when I get home, just wondering what I should look for.

    I know there are times when it is difficult trying to "Mark Forums Read" because the menu keeps dissappearing unless I'm reeeeeal careful in moving my mouse.
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,022
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    I'll get a screen from Mint-Debian
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,022
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Here you go


    But they work on hover for me in suse and others
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,129

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Yes, I have this corruption in Ubuntu and Fedora. I didn't pay attention to it before, but looking for it now I see it.
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sulzbach (Taunus), Hessen [Hesse], Deutschland [Germany]
    Posts
    2,521

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    This little fault goes away if I set the zoom in Firefox 3.6.12 (in openSUSE 11.2) smaller [Control]+[0] or to normal [Control]+[0] - but I rather like to see half of the word "Messages" but not all so small

    Cheers
    pistazienfresser

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,328

    Default Re: Top bar dropdown menus on click event, not hover

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Here you go


    But they work on hover for me in suse and others
    They do work on hover in openSUSE, but there is still the corruption (as per your pic) using firefox and seamonkey on 11.3 openSUSE.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •