Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Akonadi - how to stop it

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    299

    Default Akonadi - how to stop it

    I don't use any programme that uses akonadi such as KAddressBook, Mailody, KMail or KPilot. I don't use any PIM programmes at all. So what is Akonadi actually doing apart from sucking up resources like an alcoholic in a brewery. As a resource hog it is worse than Beagle on steroids. I cannot just delete it without removing other stuff, which would probably break the system. I have disable stringi and nepomuk.
    So how to stop akonadi for good?
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.
    Thinkpad R60e, Intel Centrino Duo T2300E 1.66 GHz, Intel 3945ABG, Intel Graphics 950, 2G RAM. openSUSE 11.4 Kde 4.6, Fritz!Box 7170.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    299

    Default Re: Akonadi - how to stop it

    As an addendum, I was too slow to edit, I do not even have kmail, kaddressbook or korganiser on my system. Most of the Akonadi processes ( i have eight running) are for mail or nepomuk, so it is wasting resources on things that are either disabled or non existent.
    Rant Mode On\ This increasing need for KDE to load up stuff I don't want and forcing me to use other stuff I don't want (yes kwallet I am looking at you) is slowly turning into a deal breaker for me /Rant Mode Off.
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.
    Thinkpad R60e, Intel Centrino Duo T2300E 1.66 GHz, Intel 3945ABG, Intel Graphics 950, 2G RAM. openSUSE 11.4 Kde 4.6, Fritz!Box 7170.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Akonadi - how to stop it

    On 16/10/10 04:36, Dwarfer99 wrote:
    >
    > As an addendum, I was too slow to edit, I do not even have kmail,
    > kaddressbook or korganiser on my system. Most of the Akonadi processes
    > ( i have eight running) are for mail or nepomuk, so it is wasting
    > resources on things that are either disabled or non existent.
    > -Rant Mode On\- This increasing need for KDE to load up stuff I don't
    > want and forcing me to use other stuff I don't want (yes kwallet I am
    > looking at you) is slowly turning into a deal breaker for me -/Rant Mode
    > Off-.
    >
    >


    You have neglected to provide necessary info on what SUSE version you
    are using and what version of KDE.

    I no longer find Akonadi to be a problem with KDE 4.5. Also, Akonadi
    doesn't start up until Kontact is started. Kwallet has only ever started
    (for me) when Kontact has started - or on the very few occasions I've
    used the Konqueror web-browser.

    --
    Graham Davis, Bracknell, Berks.
    E-mail: newsman, not newsboy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    299

    Default Re: Akonadi - how to stop it

    Quote Originally Posted by Cloddy View Post
    On 16/10/10 04:36, Dwarfer99 wrote:
    >
    > As an addendum, I was too slow to edit, I do not even have kmail,
    > kaddressbook or korganiser on my system. Most of the Akonadi processes
    > ( i have eight running) are for mail or nepomuk, so it is wasting
    > resources on things that are either disabled or non existent.
    > -Rant Mode On\- This increasing need for KDE to load up stuff I don't
    > want and forcing me to use other stuff I don't want (yes kwallet I am
    > looking at you) is slowly turning into a deal breaker for me -/Rant Mode
    > Off-.
    >
    >


    You have neglected to provide necessary info on what SUSE version you
    are using and what version of KDE.

    I no longer find Akonadi to be a problem with KDE 4.5. Also, Akonadi
    doesn't start up until Kontact is started. Kwallet has only ever started
    (for me) when Kontact has started - or on the very few occasions I've
    used the Konqueror web-browser.
    Sorry, I thought my signature would sufficiently indicate that I am using openSUSE 11.3, Kde 4.5.2. Also, I do not use Kontact, nor Konqueror web-browser.
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.
    Thinkpad R60e, Intel Centrino Duo T2300E 1.66 GHz, Intel 3945ABG, Intel Graphics 950, 2G RAM. openSUSE 11.4 Kde 4.6, Fritz!Box 7170.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    299

    Default Re: Akonadi - how to stop it

    Quote Originally Posted by Cloddy View Post
    On 16/10/10 04:36, Dwarfer99 wrote:


    I no longer find Akonadi to be a problem with KDE 4.5. Also, Akonadi
    doesn't start up until Kontact is started. Kwallet has only ever started
    (for me) when Kontact has started - or on the very few occasions I've
    used the Konqueror web-browser.
    I don't have a problem with it except that it exists, nepomuk is a waste of time but I can disable it. Akonadi always starts at boot, takes up resources and pretty much does nothing of use. AFAIK the only programmes that use it are Kaddressbook and, since 4.5, KMail, I use neither of them, I have removed them from my system, they are deceased, they are no more......So why is akonadi still starting? If it is only supposed to start when required by a programme using it then what other programmes use it, that I can delete to get rid of it. Every one complained about beagle but this whole semantic desktop is a lot, lot worse, and for no return.
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.
    Thinkpad R60e, Intel Centrino Duo T2300E 1.66 GHz, Intel 3945ABG, Intel Graphics 950, 2G RAM. openSUSE 11.4 Kde 4.6, Fritz!Box 7170.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,108

    Default Re: Akonadi - how to stop it

    I second Cloddy in that Akonadi is not really a problem anymore - it does not hog ressources after being initialized for the first time, at least not on my machine. What actually puzzles me is that it is still running although you mention Nepomuk and Strigi being switched off - just to be sure, could you check that again? Does 'ps aux' show any Strigi / Nepomuk / virtuoso-t processes running?

    I also do not use any KDE-PIM-applications and when I switch off desktop search, it stays off.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Akonadi - or, is this a Virus creating comma-prefixed ,/ Directory ??

    Dear Forum,

    i have a hidden directory ./ in my home directory containing some old
    *std.vcf_3 files with old e-mail addresses

    BUT recently it seems that some akonadi process or Virus is creating a Directory prefixed with a Comma
    named ,/addy containing a file :

    -rw-r--r-- 1 home users 0 2010-10-20 21:38 std.vcf__3

    ..............

    next i see, in the original proper hidden ./ directory, an entry :-

    WARNING_README.txt :-

    "Important Warning!!!

    Don't create or copy vCards inside this folder manually, they are managed by the Akonadi framework!"

    ............................

    Thus . . . I worry . . . Is Akonadi the program that is creating the Comma-Prefixed Directory
    named " ,/addy "

    OR

    Is this a Virus ??

    Thank you for all possible Help and Clarification ??

    best regards
    Anna

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,108

    Default Re: Akonadi - or, is this a Virus creating comma-prefixed ,/ Directory ??

    Is this a Virus ??
    Most probably not, it obviously is created by Akonadi (or maybe KMail).

    Either way, I recommend to start a new thread on that (as the symptoms you describe, while not seeming critical, are definitely strange) instead of "hijacking" another thread. This will increase the chances that you will get proper help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,645

    Default Re: Akonadi - or, is this a Virus creating comma-prefixed ,/ Directory ??

    Quote Originally Posted by anna_tabanna View Post
    Dear Forum,


    BUT recently it seems that some akonadi process or Virus is creating a Directory prefixed with a Comma
    named ,/addy containing a file :

    -rw-r--r-- 1 home users 0 2010-10-20 21:38 std.vcf__3

    ..............

    Anna
    Since 4.5 the akonadi framework takes care of the kde address-book and visiting card database. Beforehand you had this in .kde/shared/applications/etc.......
    Now, since the database is managed by akonadi, it transfers imported vcard files to be suitable for saving them in the database format (for what I remember it is a msquel-format or similar). As a result you will have from akonadi that folder, for what I understand it will be probably for transfer of imported vfc (visiting card files).

    There are no virus for Linux. There could be troyans (if you install them yourselfs) or some worms (if you do not maintain your machine). It might be possible (if you have particular reason to belief you are a target to this things) to hack your computer with personalized malware. You can minimize this event by using secure file permissions, by correctly implementing AppArmor and by not letting anybody that you do not deeply trust have access to the usb-ports and to your machine in general.

    For what you describe you should not have a virus at all, especially because the content of that directory is all but suspicious and even tells you what it does. Did you (apart this fact) see any strange behavior of applications, desktop, amount of data send over the Internet? If not there is not really a reasonable suspect for this.

    About Akonadi: the idea of this framework is "not to reinvent the wheel", in the sense that data should be seized only once, then all applications should make use of it, without forcing you to digitalize them again. So if Aknoadi sets up the database for i.e. kontact, then also kopete, the gnome applications and in the end what so ever application using that framework will be able to serve you without having to input again the data.
    Good luck.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,108

    Default Re: Akonadi - or, is this a Virus creating comma-prefixed ,/ Directory ??

    For what you describe you should not have a virus at all, especially because the content of that directory is all but suspicious and even tells you what it does. Did you (apart this fact) see any strange behavior of applications, desktop, amount of data send over the Internet? If not there is not really a reasonable suspect for this.
    Well, I don't see any signs of a virus or any malware as well, but a path prefixed with a comma (,/addy) is pretty weird, isn't it?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •