Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Replicate old desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    754

    Default Replicate old desktop

    I just re-installed 11.3 KDE. I kept my old /home directory on a USB drive. Now I would like to replicate my panels. Where are the desktop config files kept?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,035
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    I assume when you say you have your /home on a USB drive you mean it includes the hidden folders, because .kde4 is what you want
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    754

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I assume when you say you have your /home on a USB drive you mean it includes the hidden folders, because .kde4 is what you want
    Yes indeed, but I don't want to copy everything under .kde4 because there is a lot of "garbage" in there. Applications etc. that I never use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,035
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    .kde4/share/config

    anything with plasma in it's name

    But I'd try the whole folder first. You need to do that from outside X

    Do you know how?
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    754

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    .kde4/share/config

    anything with plasma in it's name

    But I'd try the whole folder first. You need to do that from outside X

    Do you know how?
    From a level 3 boot, or from a live CD boot?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,035
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Console login, like this:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Ses...sole.login.png

    Once logged in as user
    (you will want to have imported the the .kde4 folder you plan to use having already renamed it .kde4-bak to your /home/user* account)
    Then do this

    Code:
    mv .kde4 .kde4-old
    then
    Code:
    mv .kde4-bak .kde4
    then startx
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    754

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    I'm back in business, with some extra HD space.

    Many thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    37,035
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    I'm back in business, with some extra HD space.

    Many thanks.
    Excellent. Well done
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •