Need help with wireless adapter

I have a Belkin f7d1011 usb adapter. After some digging I found out that it uses the Realtek RTL8188SU chipset. I found this Realtek after a LOT of searching and my question is:

Will this work? And if so how do I install it? I’m a pretty big linux noob. I want to get this working so I can download some programming libraries :slight_smile: Thanks in advance ^^

No replies so far but I found this:

howto: Belkin F7D1101 with RTL8192SU from staging - Ubuntu Forums

can someone give me equivalent instructions for opensuse?

Such as does “network_drivers.rules” = “77-network.rules”? And I see nothing equivalent to “network_drivers.conf”

I’m not sure, but I would guess you could skip the whole first section of the link you posted. Those instructions were written in July, and there’s been a new kernel released since. The reason they need the whole first part is because the kernel doesn’t have the USB id. I would update your system with all the latest updates and then see what happens.

It doesn’t matter what you call the network.rules and network_drivers.conf files as long as they’re in the correct directory. I would suggest you make it rtl819su.rules and rtl819su.conf. (but once again, this may not be needed if the kernel recognizes your device and knows which firmware you need)

Does your network card come on at all?
If you use the command

dmesg | grep -i firmware

does it show that it’s looking for a firmware file?

Try installing kernel-firmware and see if it makes any difference.

zypper install kernel-firmware

I see there’s some realtech firmware in there, but I’m not sure if it’s the same one your card needs (dmesg should tell us).

Awaiting your reply…

Well I couldn’t get the command you listed to work, nothing happened, but I ran dmesg | less from one of the stickies and got this:

usb 1-9: USB disconnect, address 4
usb 1-9: new high speed USB device using ehci-hcd and address 5