Remote desktop from windows to suse

Hello
I am really a noob using Suse or any linux configuration. I have to work in a computer that uses Suse 10.3 from another computer that uses Windows.
What I am looking for is for some programe that works most similarly to windows remote desktop or logmein. What I mean is that I want is to see my actual desktop, not to log as a new user (when I do that I loose my work when I log out)
As I said I new at this so it would be great if you could recomend me some easy program to do what I need and with a detailed tutorial.
Thank you very much

P.S: sorry if this post allready exists, but I couldnt find it

Nx (by nomachine) will let you log on as your self, in a parallel session to your exisiting user (ie what you do as a user is NOT obsevable on the remote desktop). Purportedly ‘nx’ will also let you take over the exisiting desktop (so that your remote session can be seen) but I could never get that ‘nx’ feature to work.

Nx is available for Linux and Windows to access a Linux remote desktop.

You can also use vnc, which is what I use to maintain my mother’s Linux PC. I suspect there must be an MS-Windows VNC client to access a Linux desktop where the Linux desktop is running x11vnc. I can’t recommend an MS-Windows vnc client as I do not access my MS-Windows PC via vnc, but I supect ‘tightvnc’ or ‘ultravnc’ (both for MS-Windows) should work well with this.

Hi,
thanks for your answer. I have managed to install NX in both computers, but I still can’t manage to connect both of them. As far as I know first I need to create a system account by using “nxserver --useradd nxtest --system”. The problem is that when I do that i receive an error message that says that that command does not exist.
Any idea of what is going on?

metzer52 wrote:
> Any idea of what is going on?

my guess: either the install didn’t go well, or you must be root to
make that command work:

did you install it with YaST or zypper? if not, how?