How are you supposed to enable nvidia graphics?

Hi guys, I’m just coming from Ubuntu(don’t hate me) and realized that there are no Nvidia drivers in the repos. I had trouble even getting the repos to respond on the live cd or after installation; is opensuse having network problems? I changed the repositories to the GA tech libraries because they are closer and now they work, However I can’t get any Nvidia drivers to install. Now, I’m not a super linux guru that can fly around linux like super man, but I’m also not a newbie to linux. Or at least I think I’m not.

I need to get Nvidia drivers installed…what is the easiest way to do that, considering the “http://downloads.nvidia.com” repo doesn’t seem to want to connect either. I don’t know what the deal is, but Internet is rather clumsy with opensuse or with KDE, I’m not sure yet. I’m using 11.2 by the way and:

Linux linux-yele 2.6.31.12-0.2-default #1 SMP 2010-03-16 21:25:39 +0100 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Hi
Download your driver from here;
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/256.35/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-256.35.run

Then install the stuff to build it via a console (terminal) session;

sudo zypper in make gcc kernel-source kernel-syms linux-kernel-headers

Now once you have done that you need logout and to drop to runlevel 3
by pressing ctrl+alt+F1, then at the console login, login as root and
run;

cd <to where you downloaded the run file>
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-256.35.run -qa
sax2 -r -m 0=nvidia
init 5 && exit

You need to configure your monitor etc in sax2 etc and after the -m
it’s a zero not an O.

Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.32.12-0.7-default
up 1 day 6:54, 3 users, load average: 0.07, 0.08, 0.02
GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 256.35

Thanks, I was missing the part where you run level 3, and the zypper command. I wasn’t sure how to install stuff via console. I kept using yum or yast install. lol