Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Boot problems

Default Boot problems

Ok, so I installed openSUSE recently alongside Windows Vista. Vista is on a C partition. D and E are partition I created on windows before installing openSUSE. D and E are both empty. This morning I decided to merge D and E into one. I didn't realise this would affect anything, as I've done this before with no problems. But now when I start up the computer it won't even getto the grub screen where I can choose to boot either Windows or openSUSE. Instead, I get this:

Code:
    GRUB Loading stage1.5

GRUB Loading, please wait...
    Error 15
    Can anyonle please help me so I can at least choose to boot Windows so I can fix this? I don't mind if I have to reinstall Linux, but I need windows. Any help here is appreciated. Please note I'm a noob at this, so you might have to explain a lot.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Boot problems

Do you have a Vista DVD?
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles
    Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Do you have a Vista DVD?
    No. The only disc that came with my notebook (which was bought new April last year) was a XP "product recovery media". Vista was already installed.

But if it comes down to re-installing an OS, I would want it to be openSUSE, not Windows.

BTW, if I re-installed windows, which is on C drive, would I lose all my personal files that are on C drive?

Blog Entries

You should be able to copy all the files from windows with your Linux Install, either to your linux partition or a backup external drive
    My openSUSE 13.1 KDE Box
    My Articles

Hi,

Quote Originally Posted by diddy29 View Post
    Code:
    GRUB Loading stage1.5

GRUB Loading, please wait...
    Error 15