Huawei E156G modem: can't set up internet connection :(

I’m a complete newbie trying to set up internet connection with a Huawei E156G modem. I tried to find some information but it’s all too difficult to understand, I only got so far as to find the locations of some files they suggest should be changed. . The manual that comes with the modem says Huawei T156G works with Linux (I have an OpenSUSE 11.1, KDE) but mine doesn’t… I had to switch back to Windows to use internet :’( Viruses are attacking my computer again :’(
Could anybody please explain how to set up a connection in extreme detail?

This post was originally posted in the wrong area of our forum. I moved here to hopefully a better sub-area of the forum.

Hi Liolia;

if I can make some suggestions?

my advice is for gnome but kde should be very much the same;

plug the usb modem into a USB port with Suse running;

look at the bottom right for the two computer screens: network manager;

RIGHT-CLICK;

select mobile broadband; select ADD: click on your country; your network;

if none of those appear; (some versions of Suse do not offer prompts …)

tell us your country and provider and we research the correct settings for you …

having set up the connection;

one LEFT-CLICKS on network manager and if the mobile is set up fine, you get a line to click on to connect

for your complain , may be you could visit 3g modem to download the pdf user guide about huawei e156g

Unfortunately you did not post if you are using KDE3 or 4 and if 4 which version.

I am using 11.1 with KDE3.5 together with the HUAWEI-E620 PCMCIA modem.