Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Griesheim, Germany
    Posts
    69

    Unhappy WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    Hello SuseFolks,

    I have tried nearly everything in the blue moon that I can think of to get the WLAN on this computer enabled. The Wireless Radio switch does not do anything when pressed no matter what and therefore I can't get WLAN enabled to establish a wireless connection. Is there any way to get this switch turned on?? I had read in another board that dual installing windows with the WLAN switch to enabled should solve the issue, but that has not worked for me. WLAN worked in Windows and after switching over to SUSE, it is once again disabled by RF Switch. This laptop's mobile functionality is limited without wireless and where I live, its the best way to have internet. The wireless card is a Intel PRO Wireless 2100B. I am running SUSE 11.2 KDE. NDISwrapper is installed along with NDISinstaller, even though neither have done much for me as far as this issue goes. If anyone has answers for me, please reply cause I need your help! And please don't tell me to refer to the wireless help in the SUSE wiki. That information I can memorize now I have read it so much. Nothing in there helps me one bit. Your answers are very much welcomed in regards to this issue.

    Thanks All!

  2. #2
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    j-dub wrote:

    > I have tried nearly everything in the blue moon that I can think of


    did you think of looking in the wireless forum?

    at the 3 stickies at the top of the list named:

    Getting Your Wireless to Work
    My wireless doesn't work - a primer on what I should do next
    Welcome

    http://forums.opensuse.org/network-internet/wireless/

    if you didn't think of that, then do so now..

    and, when you have worked your way through all of those then post any
    questions to the wireless forumm

    --
    palladium

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Griesheim, Germany
    Posts
    69

    Smile Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    As I said in the post, this 'wiki' **** did not work for me. I followed the steps, tried multiple things to include windows drivers via ndiswrapper. The issue I am referring to IS indeed a hardware issue pertaining to the RF switch not working, which is the reason why I have no wireless. Until this RF kill switch issue (which is not mentioned in the 'Getting wireless to work' sticky) is solved, I will remain in the same place I have been, without wireless networking. I have posted this issue in the wireless section 2 times before and no one seemed to be able to answer or cared to answer. So the questions are:

    How do I get this RF switch to work?
    What software/modules are needed to get it to work?
    Will it work at all?

    When the answers solve the RF switch issue, then I will remain with Suse. When the answers don't solve the issue, I will unfortunately have to return to Windoze because I need wireless mobility. Referring to the wireless forums has gotten me nowhere twice. So that shows me that the issue can't be solved there or isn't interesting enough for someone to take a shot at the cause and effect, which is why I posted it here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,347

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    On 03/31/2010 04:36 PM, j-dub wrote:
    >
    > As I said in the post, this 'wiki' **** did not work for me. I followed
    > the steps, tried multiple things to include windows drivers via
    > ndiswrapper. The issue I am referring to IS indeed a hardware issue
    > pertaining to the RF switch not working, which is the reason why I have
    > no wireless. Until this RF kill switch issue (which is not mentioned in
    > the 'Getting wireless to work' sticky) is solved, I will remain in the
    > same place I have been, without wireless networking. I have posted this
    > issue in the wireless section 2 times before and no one seemed to be
    > able to answer or cared to answer. So the questions are:
    >
    > How do I get this RF switch to work?
    > What software/modules are needed to get it to work?
    > Will it work at all?
    >
    > When the answers solve the RF switch issue, then I will remain with
    > Suse. When the answers don't solve the issue, I will unfortunately have
    > to return to Windoze because I need wireless mobility. Referring to the
    > wireless forums has gotten me nowhere twice. So that shows me that the
    > issue can't be solved there or isn't interesting enough for someone to
    > take a shot at the cause and effect, which is why I posted it here.


    You post in the wrong forum, then complain that no one is answering your
    questions. I never saw your post in wireless, and I make a point of not
    answering wireless questions in any other forum.

    In fact you have not given enough information for us to get anywhere in
    answering your question. The problem arises bewcause the vendor of your
    beloved Windows invented something called the Windows Management
    Interface (WMI) to handle all the special keys. If your hardware vendor
    had been smart enough to put a real switch on the computer, it would
    have worked "out-of-the-box" the way my computer does. As they did not,
    you will need to use one of the special drivers, but without knowing
    which one to use, I cannot help you any more. Given your attitude, I
    might not help you anyway, but that decision will be based on where you
    post, and your attitude when you do!!!!

  5. #5
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    Larry Finger wrote:
    >> I will unfortunately have
    >> to return to Windoze because I need wireless mobility.


    the best way to have a computer that works with Linux is to purchase
    it with Linux installed...many manufacturers now have Linux loaded
    computers, including Dell, HP, Asus, IBM, Lenovo and others..

    otherwise, are *lots* of ways to lock the wandering herd into return
    to 30 year old VirusBait Ultimate Professional 2010


    > The problem arises bewcause the vendor of your
    > beloved Windows invented something called the Windows Management
    > Interface (WMI) to handle all the special keys. If your hardware vendor
    > had been smart enough to put a real switch on the computer, it would
    > have worked "out-of-the-box" the way my computer does.


    appears you only have a software switch..

    to get it working (if possible) i can only suggest returning to your
    thread in wireless
    <http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=433388> (which i only
    just now visited)

    i personally can't tell from your last post there the outcome of what
    you did in response to the google link..

    in fact, i can't tell if you did anything when following those leads..

    what did you try and what were the new error messages?

    personally, i think your best course is to go there and have a
    attitude which causes the folks there to want to help you..

    showing a willingness to google an error message and then follow the
    trail to happiness is always helpful--remember, the likelihood that
    any of your helpers actually HAS a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M7400 and has
    done all of the steps to know IF there even is a solution or not is
    highly unlikely..

    it is YOUR machine and YOUR problem...no one here can possibly be as
    interested in fixing it as you....but, if you don't care enough to try
    to help yourself (via google), then why should anyone else?

    so, maybe you did all of that--that is, you tried each fix you found
    which was successful for another linux machine, but you still got the
    same errors...if so you have to write that...

    if you got new errors don't just come back and report them, GOOGLE
    again and see what is wrong _now_...

    if you found no successes you have to write that (or, do you expect
    someone here to do all of that reading for you?)

    let me ask: have you found _anyone_ who has been successful in getting
    that *WinTel* lock-me-into-using-Windoz-&-Intel-switch to do wireless
    with Linux..._any_ Linux? that is a crucial question...if no one has
    ever gotten it to work then your probability to be successful goes way
    down..

    no need to post in this thread...it is your move, over in wireless..

    maybe there is no solution....as far as i know (back in the '90s) no
    one ever figured out how to make a Win-modem or a Win-printer work
    without buying Redmond software...the same _may_ be true for your
    Win-switch..

    --
    palladium

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,136

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    @j-dub
    Give us some details about your notebook: make, model, etc.
    Some models need you to load extra modules to control the wireless switch.

  7. #7
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    whych wrote:
    > @j-dub
    > Give us some details about your notebook: make, model, etc.
    > Some models need you to load extra modules to control the wireless
    > switch.



    that info is in his other thread:
    http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=433388

    --
    palladium

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,136

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    @palladium
    Sorry, I missed that thread.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    25,701
    Blog Entries
    29

    Default Re: WLAN Radio Switch not working at all, have no WLAN connection

    Quote Originally Posted by j-dub View Post
    The wireless card is a Intel PRO Wireless 2100B. I am running SUSE 11.2 KDE.
    j-dub, is this the same problem as reported here: Intel PRO 2100 not working, RF killswitch button not working at all - openSUSE Forums

    If so and if this is the Amilo 7400M laptop, then you should not be using ndiswrapper. This wireless should "just work". It does for me on same laptop. Unfortunately I do not know enough about wireless to help you. But please ensure you have the necessary firmware rpm installed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •