Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions on opensuse 11.2

Default Questions on opensuse 11.2

Hi everyone!
    I am new to OpenSuse.
    I have tried OpenSuse 11.2 Milestone 7 with kde and gnome. Both run good but I have some troubles.
    So, kde version do not read my audio cds. I have tried to listen my cd with kaffeine but I hear only a noise. then I have tried to navigate into my audio cd with dolphin but it show me this error message: "I can not read".
    With gnome, instead, everything run normally, but however, I can not navigate in my cd with Nautilus.
    This is strange for me. I use Ubuntu with gnome, and when I insert into my pc an audio cd, it show me an icon on desktop. Then I can navigate in to my cd with nautilus.
    So, I have a problem also with nepomuk.
    When I tried to use it, it crash suddenly.
    I have a question: why the slab men in gnome version do not have a suse logo, but have only a little computer image?

Sorry for my english

tuxware NNTP User

Default Re: Questions on opensuse 11.2

All I can say is, if you are new to openSUSE than use the stable 11.1 and not the develop/testing version.. Milestone releases are snapshots of the factory distribution..

Do NOT USE 11.2 at this time on a production system, wait till it is released.. If not, it will probably eat your hamster..

Thank you!!

Quote Originally Posted by tuxware View Post
    Do NOT USE 11.2 at this time on a production system, wait till it is released.. If not, it will probably eat your hamster..
    I suppose you speak from personal experience?
    Wouldn't surprise me..

tuxware NNTP User

I suppose you speak from personal experience?
    as a matter of fact, I am using factory.. and yeah I made my experience, my hamster is still alive but it was close
    But I am not new to Linux or openSUSE so I can handle and solve most of the pain..

But naturally Milestone's are nothing to start with when being completely new to a distro..