Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: LAMP in openSUSE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,009

    Default LAMP in openSUSE

    I'm in the process of developing a website in Joomla and have been using WAMP in XP on my laptop. Now that I've moved to openSUSE, I'd like to set up the LAMP stack so I can move the site over from XP to Linux.

    What's the best way of setting this up in openSUSE?
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    ASUS M3N78 | AMD 64x2 5400+ | nvidia 8200+ | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    Acer Aspire Revo R3610 | Atom 330 | nvidia ION | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,941
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Install the LAMP pattern from YaST, for a start.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,009

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Thanks. I did a search for lamp in YAST but it came up with nothing. I always forget about the patterns option in YAST.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    ASUS M3N78 | AMD 64x2 5400+ | nvidia 8200+ | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    Acer Aspire Revo R3610 | Atom 330 | nvidia ION | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,941
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Next, enable the PHP module in Apache, so that it will process PHP scripts.

    a2enmod php5

    Make sure apache2 and mysql are running by enabling them in YaST.

    Then extract Joomla in /srv/www/htdocs, point your browser to the config page, and follow Joomla's instructions to create a configuration.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,009

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Thanks. So is htdocs the www root folder of the web server, i.e. anything that is displayed on a web page goes in here?
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    ASUS M3N78 | AMD 64x2 5400+ | nvidia 8200+ | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    Acer Aspire Revo R3610 | Atom 330 | nvidia ION | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,941
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Not necessarily. You can put web pages pretty much anywhere if you know how to Alias them. But it is the default DocumentRoot so it's as good a place as any to start.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,009

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Thanks. I've got the joomla installation page up.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    ASUS M3N78 | AMD 64x2 5400+ | nvidia 8200+ | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    Acer Aspire Revo R3610 | Atom 330 | nvidia ION | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1

  8. #8

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Hey TPX,

    I just finished installing a LAMP server on my OpenSUSE 11.1 system a few weeks ago, so I hope I can be of some help to you. The first step is to install the packages for the LAMP server, which you have already done. Once you have the files installed for the server, the next step is to configure the server to run automatically and run HTTP properly. There are many ways to configure the server, but I'm going to give you the steps I used, which worked out great and are working properly for me. The URL for the tutorial is as follows:



    (Not my personal tutorial. Found on Google)

    While the title says 11.0, it will also work with 11.1.

    I hope that helps!

    Folding@Home
    Help save lives with Folding@Home

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,009

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    Thanks. I eventually found this guide which is similar. Linux Apache MySQL PHP Server (lamp).
    It all seemed to go fine except in phpmyadmin I have a warning saying "The additional features for working with linked tables have been deactivated. To find out why click here." which I haven't looked into yet. Joomla installed fine despite that warning.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    ASUS M3N78 | AMD 64x2 5400+ | nvidia 8200+ | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1
    Acer Aspire Revo R3610 | Atom 330 | nvidia ION | 2GB | openSUSE 12.3 | KDE4.10.1

  10. #10

    Default Re: LAMP in openSUSE

    One of the same problems I was having was with PHPMyAdmin. Try running this command and see if the problem persists:


    rcmysql start

    If this doesn't work, would you be able to please post the output?


    Folding@Home
    Help save lives with Folding@Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •