Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Rotating Cube With Mouse

  1. #1

    Default Rotating Cube With Mouse

    There really needs to be a central place with usability documentation for KDE.

    In Compiz I used to hold down the middle mouse button to spin the cube. KDE doesn't seem to do that. I don't like having to move back and forth a lot. Once my hand is on the mouse I want it to stay there and once my hands are on the keyboard I want them to stay there.

    Is there a way to spin the cube in Kde4 with the mouse?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vsters, Sweden ex. Highbury London UK
    Posts
    1,282

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    You have to press ctrl + F11 first then you can spin it by moving the mouse but not with the scroll wheel
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

  3. #3

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    Thanks, I realize that. It's cumbersome. The "old" way CTRL+ALT+Arrow and Mousewheel were much more efficient.

    So there is no way to change the way the cube is spun?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,420
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by mooreted
    Thanks, I realize that. It's cumbersome. The "old" way CTRL+ALT+Arrow
    and Mousewheel were much more efficient.

    So there is no way to change the way the cube is spun?
    Hi
    ccsm -> rotate cube -> bindings tab to configure

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.16-0.1-default
    up 13:26, 1 user, load average: 0.15, 0.06, 0.09
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 173.14.12


  5. #5

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    Changing the Compiz settings don't change anything. I think I have to switch fro Kwin to Compiz as the window manager. Let me try that and report back.

    Thanks

  6. #6

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    After reading on broken Emerald packages and so forth, I don't think I want to fully enable Compiz-fusion. Also problems with Nvidia and XGL.

    I really wish I could spin the cube with my mouse. Oh well. Perhaps in the future.

    Thanks for the help all.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,420
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by mooreted
    After reading on broken Emerald packages and so forth, I don't think I
    want to fully enable Compiz-fusion. Also problems with Nvidia and XGL.

    I really wish I could spin the cube with my mouse. Oh well. Perhaps in
    the future.

    Thanks for the help all.
    Hi
    I'm using compiz-fusion 0.7.6, XGL and nvidia drivers here without any
    issues whatsoever.... but with Gnome. The only reason I got the 0.7.6
    was for the sphere

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.16-0.1-default
    up 14:06, 2 users, load average: 0.05, 0.16, 0.22
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 173.14.12


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    582

    Default Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    if your using kwin for the desktop effects in kde 4.1.2 then you can use the screen edge to put up the cube and then use your mouse to spin it that way you don't have to take your hand off the mouse

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    38

    Smile Initiate: Button2 only

    You go into ccsm > rotate cube > Binding and under initiate configure it to "Button2" and take off ctrl+alt.
    On my usb mouse, button2 was the middle button. I don't think it would be different on yours.
    Ubuntu had that, i loved it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    38

    Smile Re: Rotating Cube With Mouse

    And in opensuse button2 (middle click) rotates in any window. On Ubuntu, it required you to click the desktop, then press the middle butto. At least if you were in FireFox

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •