KPPP Permissions issue for /usr/sbin/pppd

I am installing a USB Aircard on my MSI Wind which is running OpenSUSE 11. I thought I had to install a driver for it but when I plug it in it appears OpenSUSE 11 is recognizing the card and showing a driver is there. It seems the issue is getting it to actually use this driver and connect. I’m relatively new to Linux but figured I can use KNetwork Manager like I do for Wi-Fi but later used the following post suggesting KPPP:

Sierra Aircard 881 USB + Linux? - PC Cards - Wireless Forums from AT&T

Open Kppp
hit the configure button
on accounts tab create new account
connection name: “aircard” or whatever you desire
phone number: 99**1#
auth: pap/chap

on the modems tab
hit the “new” button
name your modem
*modem device: /dev/ttyUSB2
now click on modem tab
uncheck wait for dial tone
hit the modem commands button
init1 box enter: AT+CGDCONT=1"IP,“isp.cingular”
hit the query modem button
it should recognize and return info about the modem
login ID: IFP@CINGULAR.GPRS.COM
pwd: CINGULAR1
will get you connected

Here is the issue I’m having. KPPP wasn’t on my distribution so I downloaded it from the repositories. After doing that I tried all the above but ran into some problems. The modem was on USB0 so I changed it to dev/tty/USB0.

The problem is after I installed KPPP and opened it up it said that I don’t have sufficient permissions to run:
/usr/sbin/pppd
Then below it says:
Make sure that KPPP is owned by root and has the SUID bit set.

What exactly does that mean? It seems I have to change permissions somewhere but since I’m a newbie I don’t understand what I have to do.

The next issue is I then follow all the procedures as I pasted above but then when I follow the procedure where it says to hit the query modem button it says: “Unable to create modem lock file.”

It appears I have everything set up but could this be because of the insufficient permissions or is this 2nd issue unrelated?