Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Bug in the bulletin board

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    10,968
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Bug in the bulletin board

    I have noticed that the current bulletin board software places a space in some words when a segment of text is enclosed in quotes, like this segment form a post I made elsewhere:

    //192.168.1.8/music /home/yourname/winmusic cifs
    username=billybob,password=billybob_password,_netdev,uid=yourname,gid=users 0 0
    The word "_netdev" appears erroneously as "_netd ev". This is very misleading and if the person I was advising used the code as it appears in the quotation, the code would not work.

    This is not an isolated instance associated only with the word _netdev. It seems to me that it occurs fairly often and seems to me to attach itself to words at random.

    The remedy seems to be to rearrange the words by editing the text. This is not practicable if you are quoting code, because code can't be rearranged in 99% of cases. The only remedy then is to place a footnote explaining to reader/s to be careful of the typo introduced erroneously by the bulletin board.

    Here's an example in real life:
    Accessing some win machines - openSUSE Forums

    FWIW
    Last edited by swerdna; 23-Aug-2008 at 12:37.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    16,421
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Bug in the bulletin board

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna
    I have noticed that the current bulletin board software places a space
    in some words when a segment of text is enclosed in quotes, like this
    segment form a post I made elsewhere:

    > //192.168.1.8/music /home/yourname/winmusic cifs
    > username=billybob,password=billybob_password,_netdev,uid=yourname,gid=users
    > 0 0


    The word "_netdev" appears erroneously as "_netd ev". This is very
    misleading and if the person I was advising used the code as it appears
    in the quotation, the code would not work.

    This is not an isolated instance associated only with the word _netdev.
    It seems to me that it occurs fairly often and seems to me to attach
    itself to words at random.

    The remedy seems to be to rearrange the words by editing the text. This
    is not practicable if you are quoting code, because code can't be
    rearranged in 99% of cases. The only remedy then is to place a footnote
    explaining to reader/s to be careful of the typo introduced erroneously
    by the bulletin board.

    FWIW
    Hi
    What happens if you use the "code" wrapper rather than the "quote"
    wrapper?
    Code:
    //192.168.1.8/music /home/yourname/winmusic cifs
    username=billybob,password=billybob_password,_netdev,uid=yourname,gid=users
    0 0
    BTW, it all shows up ok via nntp.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.11-0.1-default
    up 3:41, 1 user, load average: 0.02, 0.29, 0.30
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 173.14.12


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    10,968
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Bug in the bulletin board

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    What happens if you use the "code" wrapper rather than the "quote"
    wrapper?
    Code:
    //192.168.1.8/music /home/yourname/winmusic cifs
    username=billybob,password=billybob_password,_netdev,uid=yourname,gid=users
    0 0
    BTW, it all shows up ok via nntp.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.11-0.1-default
    up 3:41, 1 user, load average: 0.02, 0.29, 0.30
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 173.14.12
    With the code wrapper I get like this:

    Code:
    //192.168.1.8/music /home/yourname/winmusic cifs
    username=billybob,password=billybob_password,_netdev,uid=yourname,gid=users 0 0
    Which is excellent result, thanks. As a modaerator, it still concerns me. There are many newbies to the board who (like me) just wrap without looking. I'm happy for my own usage now, thanks to you. But they will still get the errors. So I'll leave this thread as a warning FWIW.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Utah, USA, Earth, Milky Way
    Posts
    5,789
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Bug in the bulletin board

    swerdna,

    > Which is excellent result, thanks. As a modaerator, it still concerns
    > me. There are many newbies to the board who (like me) just wrap without
    > looking. I'm happy for my own usage now, thanks to you. But they will
    > still get the errors. So I'll leave this thread as a warning FWIW.


    FYI I looked into BBCODE (which vB uses here) and what I found doesn't
    address this issue specifically, but it kind of does in general. The QUOTE
    tags apparently can do some formatting of the information inside
    them. If you want something displayed exactly as you typed it, you should
    use CODE tags.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    10,968
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Bug in the bulletin board

    Quote Originally Posted by kgroneman View Post
    swerdna,

    > Which is excellent result, thanks. As a modaerator, it still concerns
    > me. There are many newbies to the board who (like me) just wrap without
    > looking. I'm happy for my own usage now, thanks to you. But they will
    > still get the errors. So I'll leave this thread as a warning FWIW.


    FYI I looked into BBCODE (which vB uses here) and what I found doesn't
    address this issue specifically, but it kind of does in general. The QUOTE
    tags apparently can do some formatting of the information inside
    them. If you want something displayed exactly as you typed it, you should
    use CODE tags.
    Thankyou. In the future I will w rap wit hmo reca uti on

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •