openSUSE Forums > Archives > SF Archives > ARCHIVES - Programming & Scripting » How Does This Guy Pinch My Website

Go Back   openSUSE Forums > Archives > SF Archives > ARCHIVES - Programming & Scripting
Forums FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


ARCHIVES - Programming & Scripting A place to discuss website design, programming, shell scripts, etc

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 16:27
swerdna
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi, I found this replica of my website. Can anyone explain what's happening here?

My website

Their copy

Even the page and site counters seem to be in synchrony.

Swerdna
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 17:06
Dean
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Copying is the Sincerest Form of Flattery[/b]


Isn't this just a live mirror? Are they using ftp or rsync mechanism? I know very little about web-techologies, but I found this interesting mirror FAQ, and this blog dealing with 'online plagiarism'.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 18:15
ken_yap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There are various web mirroring technologies, and apache can do one of them, proxy mirroring. Looks more like they've set up a mirror for their own use. Their site is slow as heck anyway, looks like you've successfully suseforumed him. If you are worried about this sort of stuff, there are some things you can do to check referrers but nothing that will stop an absolutely determined copier short of watermarking your photos prominently or turning your web pages into flash movies or something like that.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 18:43
swerdna
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks guys. Can't really do anything about it, easily, don't know if I really care. I don't really understand what the mirror technology means. Interesting that a change on my site is also reflected on their address immediately. It's as if they are just a channel address to my site.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 18:58
FuryWS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can serve garbage to all requests coming from that IP. That's how we nuke sploggers anyways. It is likely that the same webserver sports a script that steals your content, so you might try to look for its IP in your logs. Otherwise look for IPs that are doing a patterned sweeps of your site. Human visitors don't periodically sweep through a site at regular intervals, look for that.

Extra editty bit: I doubt this is a pure mirror, there are both subtle and significant differences so I'm guessing some sort of content parsing takes place.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 19:05
ken_yap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Thanks guys. Can't really do anything about it, easily, don't know if I really care. I don't really understand what the mirror technology means. Interesting that a change on my site is also reflected on their address immediately. It's as if they are just a channel address to my site.
[/b]
Yes that's what apache proxy mirroring does. In a way they are saving you web traffic.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 19:16
swerdna
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@ken_yap I found them on Wikipedia where there's a hearsay anectote about them maybe being a phishing site. And they get an enormous Goole response: http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&...earch&meta=
Too sus for my liking.

@FuryWS. Thanks, I pinged them then I used a "forbidden" for their IP. Thay aren't usefully linked any more.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 19:31
FuryWS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
@FuryWS. Thanks, I pinged them then I used a "forbidden" for their IP. Thay aren't usefully linked any more.
[/b]
You are too merciful! I would have served back a bucketload of pr0n and randomly generated spam.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 21:22
danorske
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

'swerdna, How did you find them, Were you looking for them or what?

Just curious,
Ron
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14-May-2008, 21:29
ken_yap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Web search obviously. Hasn't everybody with a website or even a blog entry searched to see how high the page ranks?
 
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC2